We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic meals, good value pricing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RSA Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
RSA Restaurant
St Hill St, Wanganui 5001, New Zealand
(06) 345 6198
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 59 Restaurants in Wanganui
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic meals, good value pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As an extended family group from pre school children to elderly family members we ate here recently. Meals are similar to what you remember from 25 years ago with good sized platings, and certainly good value. Everyone enjoyed their food and we were pleasantly served by the waiting and bar staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Golden Years atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

RSA is a joy to visit for a cost effective meal, with the customary pudding, and hearty laughter heard from the patrons who proudly serviced our country in yester-year. Next door, bands can be playing where couples are rock-in-rolling, jiving to the beat. An opportunity to enjoy the company of our elders.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was ok - good value and well cooked. The sea-food basket was attractive and tasty although the squid rings were mushy. Would like to be able to chose salad and not have it already plated with mayonnaise (which I hate). Friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great eating place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Always like having a meal here, good cheap meals, pleasant staff. Lovely atmosphere and very light and clean. Meals are prepared quickly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not my first choice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

It's not that I wouldn't go here, but lets say it's not my first choice; resturant venue is mediocre and I suppose it is what it is, an RSA. Food is ok and prices reflect that, though have to say that the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is pleasent. Room for improvement if it wants to compete beyond the 'club' market.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSA Restaurant also viewed

Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to RSA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RSA Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.