We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can tell it's the owners' pride and joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre to your Saves list
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You can tell it's the owners' pride and joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived you could tell the owners have poured their heart and soul into the place and truly care about the experience you have.
We stayed on a 1 bedroom suite in the restaurant block - it was nicely decorated, clean and with every detail carefully executed. We had a huge bed, a reasonably sized bathroom with a huge shower, and a small kitchenette with dining table.
Free unlimited wifi was a real bonus in NZ. My only disappointment was the restaurant on the floor beneath our room was closed - as this has had similarly excellent reviews. Dion was very helpful though in directing us to places in the city centre to eat, whilst leaving us to our own devices once we'd been welcomed.
Be aware you're a good walk (45 minutes at a guess?) out of town - about a 5-10 minute drive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    40
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
58
74
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We were shown around by Dion and felt at home straight away. We extended our stay to 3 nights as the room, kitchen, lounge and staff were all so nice. The best place we've stayed in a month in New Zealand, at a great price. Overall we loved it and plan to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dion and Ann welcomed us warmly and helped us to settle in easily. We had 2 nights in Anndion Cove, a 2 bedroom unit underneath the owner's living area. There were basic items in the mini kitchenette, but adjacent was the main kitchen which we could freely use for meal preparation. Also on site was a restaurant which we utilised for one meal. The beds were comfortable. We could use the lockup garage for our car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

No complaints here - my daughter, grand-daughter and I spent 2 lovely nights here. We used the shared facilities lodge, and it exceeded our expectations. We arrived on cold, wet evening and the lodge was beautifully set up and warm - gas fire, electric heating in the room, electric blankets turned on - most appreciated. There are lots of bathrooms with separate toilets and the overall price was excellent value for money. We used the breakfast service too. We will definitely stay here again when in Wanganui. The lodge is nice and close to town and the wonderful Kowhai Park, and the staff were lovely too.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed private enough to be away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Haain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we (parents + 2 girls, 13+14) stayed at this hotel during September 2013. we choose the family room, which we found very small.
also, all showers and toilets for this room are shared ones (we should have checked before).
the place is very clean, very well taken care of, the kitchen is a home-like and very nice. we enjoined the atmosphere, played some pool (why charging for that?) and had a good time.
Dion was very friendly and always there to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently made a last minute booking to stay one night here as I've been staying here since at least 2009/10. Very late the night before I was going to stay my booking was cancelled (by email by anndion lodge) as another guest decided to extend their stay. There was no apology but they did offer to book me elsewhere ( at my cost). I notice their terms do not allow such a late cancellation. I will never stay here again nor recommend it as the only reason I can see for this an extra 4 nights revenue.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the Fountainview Suite for one night but could easily have stayed for longer. The room was quiet, cosy, inviting, and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and warm and we enjoyed the extra touches like the electric blanket, the heat pump and the little choccies next to the bed. The continental breakfast basket was intriguing and well liked. We had and enjoyable dinner at their restaurant. Recommended to all looking for a place to stay in Whanganui.

Room Tip: Our suite was above the restaurant which could be noisy, but it was surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.