We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre to your Saves list
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was sold on this place from the moment I booked. I had seen it on line but rang anyway to clarify a couple of things and the service on the call was fantastic. When we arrived at the Lodge the welcome was so friendly we felt like we were staying with friends, The suite we booked was beautiful (Gardenview Suite) and my husband actually thanked me for finding such a unique place to stay. What really makes this place wonderful are Dion and Anne themselves -they are so welcoming and friendly and I even got a cuddle when we checked out! I'm already thinking about our next trip to Wanganui but I know that I will be staying here again without doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    44
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
82
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My trip was for business. Arrival was greeted well and I was even handed a beer! There is a well stocked shop at reception. We were shown to a lodge that had shared bathroom facilities which is not what I had booked. We were then shown to our correct rooms. The room is well set out with everything you would expect. Free wi-fi is available. Nice touch with the chocolates and biscuits.

On a downside, I could clearly hear the guy in the room next door. I had the fan going all night to try and get the temperature down. No aircon. I ordered breakfast the night before, being omelette with mushrooms, no mushrooms with breakfast. Is was hot and fresh.

Good size TV and plenty of channels. Alarm clock was still set from previous person and went off at 5.00am!! The lamp on the desk had blown. Small thing I know but a real pain when you need it to work.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. If travelling for business, don't stay in lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Some friends and I recently stayed here for one night (before a sporting event), and had a great time - host was fantastic, great service with a smile, despite being a obviously busy night. Was very accommodating, and premises were very nice and clean. Will def be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Anndion Lodge for a weekend celebrating the birthday of a good friend. We stayed in the Palmview Suite. The accommodation was well appointed, with a very comfortable bed, modern bathroom and little extras (fresh coffee, bisquits, chocolates). The hospitality of Ann and of Dion are top class e.g. when mentioning that we might take a taxi back from town, Dion came after us handing us a taxi business card, so we would not have to find a contact number. The premises are well laid out and we would like to come back and try out the food at the restaurant

Room Tip: For light sleepers choose a room away from the SH 4 - running along the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After staying in backpacker lodging, I decided to spend about $10 extra dollars for the Anndion Lodge, and it was the best money I spent. From the cleanliness of the room, to the free wi-fi, and free coffee, milk, and condiments in the kitchen, the owners are obviously working hard to go the extra mile. Wanganui might be a bit sleepier than some other New Zealand destinations, but the location on the river provided a great opportunity for me to do a nice bike ride. This lodge is worth a detour for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked the Riverview suite-at first we thought it was a bit misleading as on the website the pictures for the room showed a kitchen area and alot more space, the hairdryer in the bathroom didnt work but im not a hair dryer person anyway, so wasnt a big deal and the bathtub leaked when we showered which is a hazard as the floors are tile. Overall the room was immaculate (LOVED the duvet covers) and had a very homely feel. Owners Dion and Ann are the most loveliest people i have ever met and they made mine and my partners stay worth while.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a studio, the room was very clean & spacious with a very modern colour scheme (black & Red). The staff & owner were excellent and gave us good advice of were to visit. The Motel is within easy access of the town. Thank you very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: upgrade to a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.