We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Motel recomend to all if you HAVE to go to Wanganui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Court Motel to your Saves list
Kings Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   60 Plymouth Street, Wanganui, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary WiFi
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top Motel recomend to all if you HAVE to go to Wanganui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I go back to Kings court as your treated very well and nothing is a problem to the staff. Great place and will be back. Rooms have been reworked an showers are real great. Very good free broadband thats great if you need plenty for work.

Room Tip: All room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback following the refurbishment of the motel and your continued loyalty. Look forward to your next stay Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
43
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious room, and the new fixtures and fittings when we arrived. Everything was spotless, the bedding was clean and fresh, and it was very quiet. The location was great for us, just a 5 minute drive to see family and a short walk to the city centre and amenities. Wifi was included in the room which we usually need to pay for in hotels so it was a great bonus. On our next trip to Wanganui we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have recently finished refurbishing all the units and were pleased to hear your positive feedback. The motel is in a great location handy to CBD but still quiet. We are fortunate to have a great staff which help keep the motel clean and tidy.
Look forward to you staying again in the future Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is located within easy walking distance of the city centre and the rooms are lovely and fresh after their recent refurbishment with everything available that I needed. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners, Carol and Mark are both friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your very positive comments. Look forward to you staying again Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were passing through on our honeymoon. The rooms were dated, but were a great size and were very clean. The rooms included a kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon. There was free WiFi and parking directly outside of our room. It was a short walk into town, which was very quiet and not very interesting, but the motel was great as a stop over to break up long journeys

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yes the rooms were dated but we are 1 week away from finishing refurbishing all the units. We are fortunate to have great cleaners who maintain a high standard. Hope the rest of your honeymoon went well and if you are every in NZ agin we would love to have you stay Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here based on favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. It is centrally located to the city centre, walking distance to restaurants, cafes and shops. It has lovely character and the unit we stayed in was modern, clean and had everything we needed. It has recently been renovated so kitchen and bathroom is nice and new.

The owners were very friendly and we got a good price being a last minute booking (I asked and they obliged!). I'd stay here again if we are back in Wanganui. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. we were pleased that we met your needs at the last minute and that our units ticked all your boxes. We look forward to you staying again Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Room was from the 70s and a bit dated but was clean and tidy with free wifi and a friendly owner. But to be fair the owners were progressively renovating all the rooms with over 50% upgraded. It was just unfortunate that we were not one of the lucky ones. Otherwise a well situated motel and only a short walk to the central business district.

Room Tip: With the family room the main bed is situated in the main living area. If you want privacy and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place a review. It is a great location and handy to most amenities within the CBD. We will be finished the refurbishment in a few weeks so all the units will be of a modern standard. Hope the rest of your trip was great and that you had a safe trip home Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The motel was beautiful, and he location was great! Walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants. It was pretty cold in the room however, and not just because of the lack of central heating in New Zealand. We were down at the end of the building, and whatever system they had just didn't work great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. As new owners we are reviewing the heating and alternatives that can make your stay more comfortable. Yes the motel is in a great location to most amenities within Wanganui. Look forward to you staying again if every in New Zealand again.
Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Court Motel

Address: 60 Plymouth Street, Wanganui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star. 12 Spacious groundfloor units, quiet garden setting,close to city centre,self contained and serviced with off street parking adjacent to unit.Plenty of windows to take in the fresh air and natural sunlight. Everything you need in one convenient location. Suitable for all travellers or Corporate Guests alike, Kings Court is your home away from home. Cleanliness assured. Stay with us and qualify for a FREE 12th night with any Host Accommodation Motel, member of MANZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.