We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recommended overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Siena Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Siena Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Victoria Ave, Wanganui 4540, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A recommended overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a studio at theis motel due to its good recommendation and were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a one bedroom appartment on arrival which was a nice surprise. The rooms were clean comfortable and spacious with good parking outside each unit and a table and chair The equipment was thoughtfully provided to make the stay as easy as possible. There was a good supermarket nearby and it was a short walk into town with it's pleasant main street containing many shops and restaurants. Noel and his wife were very helpful and welcoming and we would certainly encourage others to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Pleased that you had a pleasant stay in Wanganui city and at our motel. We were delighted to be able to upgrade you to a larger room on this occassion. Thank you for reviewing our property - hope your holiday in NZ was most memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
59
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The unit we were in, number 9 has a fabulous spa bath which was a hit with a very sore boy after rowing all day. The DVD library at reception was also another great perk, just nice having that option as well as SKY movies. The treats on the table in the bowl - chocolate bar, fruit and crackers were a really nice touch. Noel was great, we have re-booked our next stay. The cafe called Parnell's next door was very good for breakfast or lunch with a lovely selection of gelato. The supermarket is opposite which is handy. We will be staying there a lot over the years, perfect place to stay if you need to visit Wanganui Collegiate as it is just around the corner! It was super clean, could not have had a cleaner bathroom or kitchen area. Plenty of towels etc. Fabulous!

Room Tip: A spa bath is a nice extra. Close the windows at night (double glazed and reduces any noise). In s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Yes - we are well located close to supermarkets, Parnells cafe and Wanganui Collegiate School, and our cleaning staff are very diligent in ensuring that our rooms are spotlessly clean. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I booked a one bedroom unit and a studio for one night. Noel could not have been more helpful, to the extent of even removing a dead bird from my car's grille. Rooms are spotless and quiet with toiletries and nice touches like biscuits and fruit provided. This is the place to stay in Wanganui.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Wanganui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a nice queen bed and a fairly spacious room with a good bathroom. There was a small fridge, microwave and kettle with coffee/tea etc. good advice on local restaurants and sights. Couldn't really ask for much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff we met were exceptionally friendly and helpful - even for New Zealand where you soon come to take friendly service for granted. We had an "executive" room which came with the unexpected bonus of a small patio. The room was large and well equipped. The laundry facilities are free which was a pleasant surprise. The location is convenient and easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We had only night in Wanganui and Siena was a very nice and friendly place to stay. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel was quiet for being on the road. Parking was a bit odd and the restaraunt recommendations were difficult but the hotel was very cleans and spacious. Cheers, GH

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom spa unit - it was extremely clean and tidy and plenty of room for the 3 of us. The sofa bed was made up ready for our son to use and Noel gave us a demo on how to use. Separate bedroom had it's own tv which was great. Well located close to restaurants/takeaways and supermarkets. The welcome basket was lovely. We opted for breakfast the next morning which was very tasty and extremely well priced. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you, so many people comment on our favourable location, being so close to supermarkets, restaurants and fast food outlets, and a service station and ATM just across the street. We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and we look forward to you staying with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Wanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studio and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre, with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Agoda so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.