We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Siena Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Victoria Ave, Wanganui, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Wanganui
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great property, well maintained, clean and friendly staff. Good location also with a great cafe next door.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
47
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We can only repeat what the other reviewers have said. I was worried when I arrived to see that the motel was on the main road. However the accommodation block was at right angles to the road and although we had the unit nearest the road, we had no noise at all and slept extremely well in the comfortable beds, and I am a very light sleeper. The unit was extremely well equipped and the extras were lovely - the only motel we stayed in that provided these. We appreciated the free laundry and found the hosts very helpful in advising about and booking trips. It was a little bit of a slog into the town centre, but there were shops nearby. The only little downside was it was very much a town motel so no view and very little sitting out area. Nevertheless, excellent value and absolutely immaculate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wonderful, friendly hosts, very clean and very quiet. We were pleased to have stayed here and to know that the TA reviews we read prior to coming were spot on!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at a few places in wanganui and Siena is the best. I recommend to all other business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom unit (#8) which was away from the main road. The room was small but very modern and clean. Welcome basket of snacks was a nice touch, especially after a long days drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My partner and I chose this place as a rest stop along a trip due to is high rating on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. This motel has everything the traveller needs, it offers good value plus a few nice extras thrown in. Everything in the room is clean, and the place is centrally located in town. Its walking distance to a very tasty sit down Turkish restaurant too.

The towel rail heater means that your towels are nice and dry in the morning. The addition of some fruit & snacks was a nice touch and we even enjoyed that there are a few movies available to borrow at reception. This motel also offers to cook you up breakfast or dinner at a reasonable additional charge which is great if you get to town late or want to start your trip early. The Sienna Motor Lodge deserves its high rating, keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor I decided to stay at Siena Motor Lodge. They most definitely deserve their number 1 spot for Wanganui. I could not fault this place. Everything was fantastic including the cooked breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thankyou very much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking time to write a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Wanganui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.