We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of of a renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Collegiate

Quality Inn Collegiate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Collegiate to your Saves list
Quality Inn Collegiate
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Liverpool Street, Wanganui 5001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In need of of a renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed here for only 1 night, thankfully. We were traveling with a 14 month old who was still crawling and not walking. After 5 minutes of crawling around, her hands, knees and toes were black from the carpet. It was disgusting. I did not want her touching anything. We thought we would get a 1 bedroom room for the space, but the cot had to be placed in the living room as it did not fit in the bedroom. The portable cot supplied was also old and did not stay up if we put pressure on the sides. overall, was glad to get out of there the next day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010 via mobile

Stay here regularly and at similar places in other main centres. It's not the newest place on the block the rooms are little dated 70's style, however the Collegiate compares very well in every other way. It is well located with clean good sized rooms. The staff are always friendly. One big attraction is the good well priced meals. At the end of a long day there is no need to go looking for somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Collegiate before, changing to the Collegiate after a bad experience at another Wanganui Motel. The Collegiate is definately dated, but that is more than made up for by the execllent service from the staff and the convenience of having a Restaurant on the premises and being very close to town. We used the Restaurant and the Room service on this trip and found the meals were very nice and good value. This was highlighted by the lunch we had at the Rutland Hotel on the Monday which was well overpriced for the type of food served. The Basin & Victoria Lake are worth a visit. In the summer a fish & chip dinner while watching the colored light fountain at Victoria Lake is a good way to spend the evening, especially if you have young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Pleasant staff, fairly central location, very clean... everything you want in an overnight stop? Possibly, unless modernity is on your list of 'must haves'.

The bedrooms are from a 1950's timewarp, offering a rather similar feel to a pre-refurb Butlins holiday camp chalet.

We chose that hotel because it has large family rooms. But would we return... probably not.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2004

We recently moved to Wanganui and the Collegiate Inn was our first "home". The facilites are clean, well kept and very comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Thanks Collegiate!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Collegiate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Collegiate

Address: 122 Liverpool Street, Wanganui 5001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Collegiate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Collegiate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wanganui
Wanganui Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Collegiate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.