We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar

Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar
132 Victoria Avenue | Central City, Wanganui, New Zealand
+64 6-347 2615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 63 Restaurants in Wanganui
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went there on Thursday night for a meal out with a friend of mine. Turned out to be live music night which was a real treat. The atmosphere was lively without being too loud and the food was very nice too.
A little bit on the expensive side compared to what I am used to paying ($27 for the fajitas), especially for the food that I had. But the food was a good portion size, well cooked and tasty. My friend ordered the regular garlic prawn pizza ($16) and it was a good protion size. She said that it was very nice.
All in all a good night out, with friendly staff and owners. Next time I think i will go for dessert and coffee and try the churros!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant - Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great Local Restaurant - Lovely Food. Went with my partner's son and girlfriend who are doctors at the local hospital. This is one of their locals and I can see why! It was nice and relaxed with good food and some live music. It would have been nice to go back for another meal but unfortunately we were on our travels. Paella recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dining is so delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Thank you for a lovely romantic dining opportunity. My partner and I were having a weekend away from the kids heading to new Plymouth when we decided to stop in at Whanganui. We liked the look of delicious café and thought we would pop in for a quick coffee and bite. We were greeted by two guys playing guitar and singing. Well worth the listen and added to the charm of the place. The owners and staff were lovely, and the coffee was hot and yumm. To add to it we had a delicious Pizza that left us feeling satiated but not gluggy. We are keen to pop in another time when we pass through. This is a place well worth visiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great little place amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

love this place, great food great service and all a stones throw from the main shopping areas in the town.you must try this place you wont be dissapointed, will definitely be back!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free & Vegetarian choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This review probably means nothing to you unless you have dietary requirements like my travelling buddy and I.

This cafe was a diamond in the rough. We trekked up and down the streets of Wanganui to find somewhere that was a) open, b) gluten free friendly, and c) vegetarian friendly. And this literally was the only place we could find. And boy, what a find. It has more gf options than the entire city that I'm originally from has.
Although it was at an awkward time for lunch (3 or 4pm) the lady behind the counter was very friendly and helpful.
The food was tasty and healthy, so if that is what you're into - go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicious Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.