We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some modernisation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, P.O. Box 364, Wanganui 4540, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Needs some modernisation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, the initial impression of the hotel was positive as it has a very grand lounge and dining room. The room however was a slightly different matter. It did feel like you'd stepped back in time with carpet on the walls and a strange selection of lamps and lights all with bulbs that were were too big for the shades. We felt like we were appearing in a slightly seedy Dirty Harry movie, in a way that made us smile.
The room was clean and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, We are moving through the rooms and changing too eco long life bulbs and we will take the time to matching them to the shades, this is as the bulbs need replacing. Some of the rooms decor still match the era of this grand old building, but we are refurbishing the rooms as time and $'s permit. At least you did Smile about the room.

Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A perfect night in well set up good value hotel. Complimentary breakfast an added bonus. Welcoming staff ensured a very memorable nights stay. Very easy to book online and bar meals are realistically priced. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel, we always hope to give good value for the dollars you spend with us. The free continental breakfast ( 3 cereals, toast, Orange juice, tea, coffee) is a bonus to your stay, which can be upgraded to a cooked breakfast $10 to $18 ) Thanks for your recommendation.

Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkwood, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were so lucky to stay in this Wanganui icon! Fantastic old place with heaps of character. We stayed in the Govenors suite which is only a few extra dollars and was worth every cent. Big seperate lounge and large dining table with a seperate loo for the visitors with a seperate bedroom with unsuite and spa bath. The shower head was not good but apart from that nothing to complain about at all.Yeah its not new but lacks nothing. The staff and owner are something else. Nothing was too much trouble including getting ice at stupid times and making a homemade pie and chips when everything else was closed. We thankyou for a very lovely stay and memory. If you go to Wanganui Stay here and in the Govenors Suite....youll love it. Allan and Stef. Gold Coast, Australia

Room Tip: Go the best. Dont pinch for a few lousy dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for reviewing our Hotel, We aim to give value for a nights stay, its pleasing to have guest that pay that little extra to stay in one of a better suites and that our staff gave you the service you expected.

Regards Darron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here one night on a North Island road trip.
We asked for a spacious room, and was given room 110.
It is recently renovated, and it was spacious.
And for $99 was a bargain.
Include free wifi.
Free breakfast (a little basic, but o'key.)
All staff were friendly and helpful.
But the best of all, was the Irish pub downstairs.
The meals had very competitive pricing,
and the two meals we had were absolutely superb.
You have to eat there.

Room Tip: ask for room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, we are in the progress of refurbishing our 55 rooms and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, Our meals in the Irish bar are good value for money, We are also pleased that you found our staff friendly

Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this old gem in September. It was only by shear luck that we found the hotel as we literally drove around downtown to find someplace to stay since we rolled into town rather late. Overall this hotel does its job. Not fancy but nice enough and still possesses a genuine old timer feel. The staff were very nice and went out of their way to post a jacket that I had left behind. I can't thank them enough for doing this as it had sentimental value. Overall I would recommend this property to anyone passing through or staying in Wanganui for a couple days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
hi thanks for writing your review on your stay, yes our building is old and grand and with character, we are refurbishing the rooms to lift the our guests comfort., but , we are pleased to hear that our staff meet your expectations

Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

welcoming entrance with beautiful potted plants along front of hotel. The fruit salad at breakfast was tops. Friendly staff. Right in middle of town, plenty of parking. Plenty of character as you would expect from an old hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi , thanks for writing your review. We agree that our Entrance is grand and fitting the character of the building, but, most off all, we are pleased that our staff made your visit a pleasure

Regards
Darron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Grand is the Grand Old Lady of Whanganui, now a venerable dame, a little worn, a little tired, but still a really good place to base a visit to this interesting city. My room was warm and comfortable, came with free continental breakfast, and the meals and hospitality in the bar in the evening was all I needed. Don't expect modern styling, but relish an experience from the past.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel on your stay, yes she is a fine old lady, built in 1927. We have been working on refurbishing the rooms. We are also glad to hear that our staff in the bar made your stay enjoyable

Regards Darron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, P.O. Box 364, Wanganui 4540, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.