We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Sport Team Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coachman's Lodge to your Saves list
Coachman's Lodge
30 Liffiton Street, Wanganui, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Featherston, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hockey Sport Team Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What an amazing couple Trevor & Luz are! They went out of their way to ensure all the girls had everything we needed. They were kind enough to donate us some goodies for the girls morning tea, thank-you.
The rooms were very large and accomodated all the girls comfortably. They had full kitchens and the best water pressure for all those showers!
We had a very late check-out due to our late game on our last day, Trevor & Luz were accomodating & let us use the rooms for as long as we needed.
I will certainly be recommeding this motel for any future sports groups in the Wanganui area.
They were also just a hop, skip & a jump away from McDonalds which has a McCafe. The french cafe just a short walk from the motel was sadly closed on the Sudnay morning.
A huge thank-you from the U13 Rawleigh Hockey Girls

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmans lodge c, Owner at Coachman's Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments. We enjoyed having the team stay with us.

Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this motel because it was near a family-friends' place and we were visiting them as opposed to Wanganui itself. The unit was large and seemed very clean at first glance and the kitchenette was well facilitated.

The first sign something was wrong was when I found two dead ant-like creatures in the bathroom and one live one. Strange, but nothing to worry about just yet. When I went to pull back the bed covers, there were dozens of these dead ant-like creatures all clinging to the covers. Horrific. We took off the cover, and threw it into the kitchen, turned the electric blankets on and went to sleep feeling very itchy.

On checkout we told the manager/owner. They were apologetic and said something like this hadn't happened before, but the area is known for having ant problems. It was strange then that all the ants were dead, as if the covers had not been cleaned, or the place where they were stored might have an infestation. I didn't think this was a good enough response and unfortunately we had pre paid, but even so, some form of discount would have been nice. I don't believe they've never seen it before...how did the person dressing the bed miss all those black dots everywhere.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmans lodge c, Owner at Coachman's Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We were genuinely horrified to be told that you had found, not dozens but, a significant number of dead ants on top of the bedcover. When I changed and made the bed on the morning of your arrival there was no sign of any ants, dead or alive. Also when you were taken and shown the Unit no ants were seen. Also we certainly do not/did not have an infestation of any sort in our storage areas.

When I asked if you had slept alright I was told you had a good night's sleep and that everything was fine apart from the ants and "that was not a big issue as they were all dead".

I also said that it was a pity that you didn't tell us of the problem as soon as you found the dead ants so that we could have done something to try and rectify the situation. We could have replaced the bedcover or moved you to another Unit or some other solution that would have been acceptable to you. Guest comfort and satisfaction is of the upmost importance to us.

You state that you don't believe us when we say that we hadn't seen it before and infer that we lied to you, a statement we find most regrettable to say the least. Let me assure you that in the time since we have owned the Motel we have never seen such an event and even more strangely it hasn't occurred again - odd,very odd.

You now state that you would have liked a discount and so we have donated $50.00 to Wanganui Hospice in your name.

We have for the past 8 years endeavored to provide our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and to find that one very unfortunate event that we could not possibly have predicted or foreseen can jeopardize all the hard work is sad - so sad..

Once again we do sincerely apologize, however if you come across a problem or an issue when staying somewhere please notify the manager/owner immediately so that they are given the opportunity to deal with the situation - hopefully to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Trevor and Luz are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel at home. My unit was tidy, clean and warm. Secure parking outside my unit. This is where I stay whenever I am in the Whanganui area. It has a restaurant next door (and an easy 2 minute walk for F&C and now a new McD's nearby too). Many thanks Trevor and Luz and I will definately be back.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmans lodge c, Owner at Coachman's Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review- much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for another skating event. 2 kids, 2 adults and lots skating gear! We stayed in a two bedroom unit. Bedrooms are upstairs, bathroom, kitchen, lounge downstairs. Lots of space, clean, simple decor. Will definately stay here again. Great value for money, and close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmans lodge c, Owner at Coachman's Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We enjoy having the skating families stay with us. A very nice group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Lodge

Address: 30 Liffiton Street, Wanganui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachman's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.