We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aotea Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Aotea Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

probably one of the most comfortable beds you will find, this is the place to stay in Wanganui. Easy access to city and located close to through roads so easy to find. Plenty of surrounding facilities from a Video Ezy to a pak n Save.
Note also FREE WIFi and big screen tv, rooms have dvd players.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
40
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NewZealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights earlier this month. Modern, contemporary style room. Location is close to city centre and there is Countdown, Pak n Save and New World supermarkets and the usual fast food outlets all within 200/300 metres (this does not detract from the property but very useful for shopping / self catering).The room was clean and tidy, no noticeable noise from the surrounding area and a good choice for business or leisure traveller. We booked a studio which offered an upgrade to an executive one (subject to space) which had a balcony. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I thought this lodge was well located and a good place to stay.
Our room was quite large and very clean.
The only downside for anyone interested in sport was that it only had one TV Sports Channel which in my opinion is not really good enough
A couple of recommendations for Management would be to insure that there are enough knives and forks etc in the room-i.e at least 4 of each in a 4 person apartment.
The other is to stop recommending the Kingsgate which would have the worst breakfast in Wanganui especially when there is Parnell Cafe just 100 meters down the road which provides great food anfriendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Manager at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments – I will check all kitchen utensils and forward your feedback to the Kingsgate. Sincerely Alaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Horo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed just one night on the recommendation of a friend, had a one bedroom unit which accomodated my wife and I, our daughter and 2 grandchildren. It was extremely clean and everything that was provided was of top quality. The beds were just wonderful even a little too comfortable.
The bathroom is fantastic with a huge spa bath and great shower, you could spend a lot of time in there
Staff were very friendly and efficient.
Have no hesitation in recommending the Aotea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Manager at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at Aotea as a break from a campervan. The rooms are spacious and the beds, spa, shower and TV are great. Though there is only a microwave, contrary to many places there is sufficient china and cutlery plus lots of little extras that make self catering possible if that is what you choose to do. Supermarkets, restaurants and takeaways are all handy and if you enjoy walking, the CBD is quite accessible. The management were helpful in every way including allowing us to park a 4 Berth campervan on the premises and giving us good advice on resaurants. In addition the cleaning staff we encountered during the day were kind, helpful and cheerful - a sign of a good workplace. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - We appreciate your kind words. Regards Alaina/Sunny and the Staff at Aotea Motor Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have now stayed two times at Aotea Motor Lodge - the beds are wonderful, the bathroom superb and staff are extremely helpful! I have no hesitation in recommending
Aotea to anyone! This motel is the best in Wanganui!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Alaina/Sunny and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed there a number ofttimes over the past few months and don't have a bad word to say. Reception has always been fun to deal with - happy, friendly and helpful. Once they understood I needed a room away from the street, I was well catered for. Don't settle for a road side room - they can be very noisy. Convenient to get to and close to supermarket if that is what you need. Would gladly choose again

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review - I am not sure if you know or if this, but if there is a preference for a particular room, please inform Reception when you next make a booking and we will load it against your details to ensure that you get the room of your choice every time you stay with us. Sincere Regards Alaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aotea Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.