We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aotea Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aotea Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Aotea Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Probably best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Aotea and found it to be lovely and fresh and new. We had a quiet one bedroom unit at the back on the first floor which I can recommend. It was spacious enough to sit around in but don't expect to do any cooking beyond breakfast as it is a basic kitchenette.
The room was warm and the lodge was well situated in town, easy walk to all amenities. The children had very spacious beds to sleep in (seemed larger than King singles). However the main bed was really too small, didn't seem like it was queen sized and would have expected a king size bed to fit in with the quality of rest of the unit. Overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on our Motel. The beds are definitely Queen and King Singles -

The truth is, we planned to have two queen beds in every room, but the architect miscalculated dimensions of the wall/gibing and we ended up with units that would not fit two Queen beds in them. If only we knew this before the container arrived with furniture, we would have changed them to King only. Sorry the beds are not likely to be replaced for some time, The positive is, they are lovely beds and we do have some spare Queen size ones for sale.
Regards Alaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
40
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Really nice room with comfy furniture. Spa bath was huge but only way to fill was to climb in, turn on taps then climb out again! The only thing I felt was missing were electric blankets for the cold nights. Very convenient for supermarkets and takeaways.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the review.

With regards to the electric blankets, we will take this under advisement.- Regards Alaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night over Easter weekend whilst travelling North to Hamilton.
This Motel is located at the end of the main street in Wanganui & opposite a large supermarket. Subway is next door & McDonalds 5 mins away.
It's a bright & modern place, much nicer than other dreary time warped Motels we stayed in.
Our room had a massive double spa bath aswell as a beautifull shower in the bathroom & the kitchenette was well equipped.
The big screen TV was great & the bed was clean, fresh & very comfortable.
Check in & out was efficient & friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate the effort and thought you put into it.
Regards Alaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This motel was very modern and situated at the far end of the main street, close to two supermarkets so we were able to walk there and buy some cold meats and salads instead of eating out at a restaurant which made a change. Very clean, and nicely furnished. However I found the shower recess was far too small for me, while the spa bath which I did not use was gigantic, taking up half the bathroom. If you like spa baths then this would be the ultimate place to stay! Did enjoy the extra large TV.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved the huge spa bath in the room. Next time I'm going to take a big book and enjoy that space for hours. Lovely bed to sleep in and one of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel bed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We were in Wanganui for the night and stumbled upon this fantastic accomodation. We needed a 2 bedroom apartment and this place was perfect and very reasonably priced.
Two king singles in the main room, huge bathroom with spa plus a separate room with a queen bed.
The staff were so nice and actually took us to show the room beforehand to make sure we were happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

.. from the usual drab, soulless motels we had encountered on the rest of our visit to New Zealand. The room was huge, clean, and beautifully appointed, and most of all the beds were fantastically comfortable - our best night's sleep for ages. We had one of the rooms with a double spa bath in the lounge - not a problem at all! To cap it all, the internet connection (free) was the quickest and most reliable we found throughout our (5-week) visit to both North and South Islands. Great value for money - I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us - we really appreciate your kind review.
Regards Alaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aotea Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aotea Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.