We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Cottage to your Saves list
Cotswold Cottage
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 2815, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Thames B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from trip to North Island NZ. Cotswold was lovely and easy to find with a sign on the main road. Just outside of main town center. Friend and I stayed in twin bed room. Lovely and clean! Adrienne and Garth even stayed up late to help us check in! Garth gave us plenty of advice on how to tackle the peninsula as well as let us borrow beach towels and a spade for hot water beach. He even rinsed our rental car off for us after we did a little off roading through the 309 and other roads! Breakfast was fantastic! Seperate entrance to room and very quiet. Im picky about where I sleep and often travel alone as a singal gal (although I was with a friend this trip) but felt very safe and I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cotswold Cottage was the first stop on a weeklong bike trip around New Zealand's Coromandel Peninsula. At the end of a long, rainy ride, Garth & Adrienne were the perfect hosts (fresh scones served to us in the hot tub!) and the place -- the definition of charming, like something out of a short story. Gorgeous postcard view, wine in the common area and a killer "Full Kiwi" breakfast. "Coco" the cat has quite the beautiful spot. Highly recommended.
-- Alfredo Casuso & David Perry

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here to cycle the Thames rail path.
The room was very clean and fresh and we were served afternoon tea on arrival.
We slept like babies and had a fabulous home cooked breakfast in the morning.
They even picked us up from Wakino after our cycling ride.
Would definitely stay here agin!

Room Tip: All 3 looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Just an hour out of Auckland, this is a great weekend get away for couples. On arrival, we were offered fresh baked scones and a cup of tea. We hadn't been to the Coromandel for a few years and were in need of some educated direction. (Due to time constraints). We got great directions on all that the coromandel offered. Room was clean, modern, yet vintage. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was great and certainly set us up for a day of exploring. Other upsides - breakfast is at a main table in the house so you got to catch up with other travelers - eg: great adult conversation. All in all - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

All of the other glowing reviews for this special Bed and Breakfast accommodation are totally justified. The location is lovely, with the house surrounded by pleasant gardens and set up on a rise with views over the racecourse and green fields to the hills. Adrienne and Garth are such welcoming and accommodating hosts, you couldn't do better. And the breakfasts are another memorable treat - whether it's toast with a choice of spreads, delicious muesli or other cereals served with fruit, a full cooked breakfast, or pancakes, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed and very clean, and the area totally quiet at night (the only exception to this being that you will hear other guests in their rooms, and if they arrive late or leave early, but otherwise silence reigns). There is outdoor seating to enjoy, either on the deck outside the guest rooms or out in the garden, tea and coffee facilities whenever you want to use them, and if there is anything else you want, just ask. Nurse Adrienne was even able to provide treatment and a plaster for a graze when we discovered that we had left our first aid kit at home.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding b&b on elevated landscape. Fresh produce used in breakfasts. Manicured gardens and helpful hosts - with lots of advise on tourist attractions. Stay was very pleasant - big recommendations for CotswoldCottage!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalheven
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We planned to stay 1 night at Cotswold Cottage but after arriving on site and meeting Garth and Adrienne we decided to stay 2. And that was before we had experienced their fabulous breakfast.
Accommodation was excellent, breakfast superb and Garth planned our day exploring the wonderful peninsula to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 2815, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.