We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nz trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Cottage to your Saves list
Cotswold Cottage
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 2815, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Thames B&B and Inns
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nz trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Cotswold cottage was a lovely surprise.garth and adrienne were very welcoming, complete with tea and scones.very helpful without being overbearing, felt very comfortable.room was lovely with great view and the rotunda lounge was very cosy.brekky was hearty with lots on offer in a cute dining room.all in all our stay was great.highly recommend.

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Garth and Adrienne were very hospitable with a welcoming full tea and pleasant review of what to do in the area. Lots of great ideas for Coromandel and guided us to some excellent stops that we would have missed without their recommendation. Rooms are cozy, common area has lots to use, and the breakfast was a delicious Kiwi fare.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed in the Neatherwood suite with the very comfortable four poster bed, lovely modern bathroom with big shower and spa bath. Beautiful mountain and river views, gorgeous sunset. Our hosts made us feel very welcome, and served us a delicious and generous breakfast in the morning. Really enjoyed a relaxing soak outside in the hot tub under the stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

When I requested to stay at Cotswold Cottage, my request was answered promptly, professionally and very warmly. On arrival, I felt very welcomed and went on to spend a relaxed and refreshing stay. My room was very comfortable and immaculately clean. All the rooms are beautifully set out. All food served is home made and well worth eating. Garth and Adrienne are well acquainted with the area so were able to advise me well on what to do during the day. They went well past what would be expected of hosts in making sure my stay was comfortable and relaxing. Will definitely return and will recommend this place to many.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was very comfortable and bathroom and toilet was latest and clean. Outside view and area is very lively and scenic. We enjoyed stay thoroughly and will go back again when possible.
the host were very politely friendly and helpful.
I cannot appreciate more about candle lit dinner and romantic music.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Cotswold Cottage B&B on a hill alongside Maramarahi Rd., just south of Thames, was a very nice place for a one-night stop during Nov. 2013. Easy to find. We wish we had been able to stay longer.

We were in the Aynsome Room, the middle of the 3 guest rooms. It had a comfortable king bed, small desk, tasteful decorations, and free WiFi. There was no air conditioning, but the windows opened, and A/C was not needed during our stay. Tea and cake were provided upon our arrival in late afternoon. There was a nice view across the valley from the deck outside the guest rooms and from the adjacent guest lounge, where a small refrigerator and tourism literature were provided. In the morning, hosts Adrienne and Garth provided an excellent breakfast at the time of our choosing. They also gladly provided information and advice about sights in the local area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check the Cotswold Cottage website for details re the 3 distinct rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

An excellent, personal reception by Garth and Adrienne. Very comfortable room with an excellent breakfast.You feel right at home. This is a place to return for sure.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 2815, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.