We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service and a disappointing meal.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Di Luca's

Di Luca's
640 Pollen Street, Thames 2801, New Zealand
07 868 7976
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 35 Restaurants in Thames
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A warm ambient authentic italian style restaurant, perfect for dining with a group or just the two of you. We have a table outside during the warmer months for takeaway diners, and a nice takeaway waiting area. Located in the middle of town, there is plenty of parking. We are licenced and allow BYO as well. Buon appetito!!
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Slow service and a disappointing meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were only in Thames for one night and are unlikely to be back there but I would certainly not return to this restaurant if we were back that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Foods great, but cramped and uncomfortably close to other dinners. Very small tables in a long skinny room. Such good food needs a better setting. A bit expensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron M, Owner at Di Luca's, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello from Di Luca's

Thanks for your comments. Yes the restaurant is long and not as wide as we would prefer, but we have inherited the dimensions and have tried to make the most of what we have. When we took over, we thinned the place out and changed several of the wider tables from 4 seating to 2 seating. These were located along the left side of the room as you come in. Unfortunately you sat on one of the three small tables we have for two, sorry that we didn't point you to the other tables. We are thankful that the food was good. Hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great end to the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Subdued lighting in a very Italian setting. Very easy on the eye. We were the only in house diners (for an early meal) so no great stress on the staff, but even in those circumstances, service can be patchy - but this was not. It was great, prompt and friendly. My fettuccini al pollo masala was delicious, with a great back bite of chilli, and my partners pizza was exceptional. Garlic pizza bread to start was ok - much prefer a low salt, crispy thin pizza bread - but not a deal breaker. They seemed to be doing a steady takeaway trade. A very pleasant experience. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron M, Owner at Di Luca's, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, much appreciated. We hope you will visit the area again, and should you come into Di Luca's we will give you a complimentary garlic pane to compare against. We have taken on board your comments about the pane breads, so hope you notice the difference. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, no atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The restaurant is situated in a dim mud coloured space, bery much like an underground garage. Unfortunaly the staff lost our order and we waited for hours until we finally asked. They tried to fob us of with "complimentary fries" , but finally agreed on some free wines to stop is from walking out.
The pizza's were ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron M, Owner at Di Luca's, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello from Di Lucas

We are sorry that you have reported as such, as at the time you appeared happy with the free bottle of wine and said that the pizza's were good. It is unfortunate that it was a fairly busy night for us and I had a new staffie on who had not checked up on you. We are most apologetic about that and have covered this issue in a big way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Easy quick meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had just completed a 12 shift and white something filling and easy. No thinking required. The pizza chef was flat t as the other one had not arrived for work. He made me feel welcomed and gave great recommendations.
The pizza and pasta was the best I have ever had and would highly recommend for either a dine in or takeaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron M, Owner at Di Luca's, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Our team is delighted to have provided you with a good meal. We look forward to seeing you again. Buon appetito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Luca's also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Di Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Luca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.