We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint retreat in the forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Te Mata Lodge to your Saves list
Te Mata Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Thames
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint retreat in the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life then Te Mata Lodge is for you. Situated in a quiet valley, surrounded by forest. Self-contained unit, neat as a pin. Lovely surrounds and views. Wonderful to BBQ and sip on a quiet drink on the balcony whilst listening to the birds. Short drive to Coromandel Town and Thames. I was impressed with their 'environmental statement' (trying to reduce their impact on the environment) The new owners are lovely people and will do anything to make your stay memorable. A big thank you to Mike, Jovana, Murray & Dorothy for looking after us.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 had a lovely outlook over the valley, wonderful views to awake to. I think most of the acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWilkes, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for a great review Scotty and Andrea.
It was a pleasure having you stay, quality conversation and really loved hearing about your different trips around the Coromandel.
Hope to see you again sometime, either us over your way or you back in our beautiful corner of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed three nights in one of the chalets. The drive into the Lodge (off Eames Cresent) follows a winding gravel road (400m) that took us into the grounds on the banks of Te Mata Creek...the setting in just breathtaking...hosts Warwick and Kathryn Reed are lovely people, with extensive knowledge of the Coromandel Peninsula...and have added that personal touch that made our stay enjoyable. The chalet was spotless and its location, with views of the surrounding forest, and valley, had us believing that we were in a treehouse. Comfortable beds made for restful nights, and the locale made for restful days. The Lodge is surrounding by pristine trails for those who enjoy a good hike. The Coromandel needs a good week just to scratch its surface, and I can't think of a better base to explore it from than the Te Mata Lodge. Many thanks to the Reeds for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is off the beaten path but worth the drive. Four of us stayed in a chalet in two separate bedrooms. We purchased a breakfast basket for our morning meals.

The grounds are rustic and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aghalee, NI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in Te Mata Lodge for 2 nights and it was in such an idyllic setting we wished we had stayed for longer. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming, offering good advice for things to do on the Coromandel. Hopefully some day we will get back to experience it again!!

Room Tip: We were in Chalet #4, nice and private with the sound of the river the only noise in the background
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I chose Te Mata based on previous reviews and we were totally pleased with the choice. Three of us stayed in a homey, comfy 1 BR fully equipped cottage. As our host Warwick predicted, we wished we had more time to stay. This is a special place, off the beaten track, more of a nature lodge/summer camp, not just another night at a typical hotel. More sun, less rain would have been nice, but we got to see the glowworms in a totally natural setting under a small overhang along the river. The 4/5 for cleanliness is only because nature isn't pristine, but that's OK. Te Mata is not about the room but the wonderful setting with caring hosts who continually work to improve it (tho they anticipate change and are looking for new owners).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Te Mata is situated up a creek in a truly beautiful spot. The cabin is basically furnished but quite adequate for short stop. Free Internet, kayaking and river shoes if you fancy a walk up the creek all add to its appeal. Only drawback for us was the late check in, not till 5pm, which we found a bit late, especially if it is only a one night stopover.

Room Tip: Choose the larger cottGe if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tematalodge, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thanks for the positive comments, but I want to clear up one point. Our check in time is 1:00pm - and always has been. I am sorry if you thought otherwise. I am glad you had a nice time while you were here. One of the frequent comments our guests make is how much they wished they had longer to stay - both for the opportunities on the Coromandel Peninsula and the things to do here at Te Mata Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Te Mata Lodge is delighfully situated by a river. The gardens are lovely and the hosts are charming and very welcoming. The cottages are spacious and, while not luxurious, are very comfortable. We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mata Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.