We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best, well earnt 4 stars. In my opinion should be 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coastal Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Coastal Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames SH 25, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best, well earnt 4 stars. In my opinion should be 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 30 days here, and it was wonderful. Karen and Colin are excellent hosts. We arrived after a 26 hour flight from the UK. They gave us a wonderful welcome and made us confortable. The accomadation was excellent, spotless and serviced daily and had every thing in it. We choose a raised lodge for the magnificent view of the ocean. All the staff were polite and curtious. The car parking was right out side our lodge.
karen and Colin were extremely helpful to us first timers in NZ, they sorted out our car hire and took us down to the town. They are both very knowledgeable about Thames and the Coramandle perninsular and gave us good advice. They have a wide range of brouchers and if what you want is not there I am sure they could find it out for you. The free e mail was a real bonus as we had to keep the UK informed regularly, so top marks for that. The food was excelent and a good choice, thats delivered to your door. They really do there best to accomodate your times as well. As for coast road, the lodges are far enough back not to interfere and the trees make a wonderful sight. Overall its difficult to be brief about the Coastal and Karen with Colin really made our stay in N Z an extremely wonderful time. All I can say is we really reccomend it to anyone wanting to visit, you will not be dissapointed. If we are down there again its a definite for us.
Fred and Peter

Room Tip: dificult as they all good. The ground level are bigger ? a family of 4. The raised are great for2 0r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thankyou so much for the great review. We did enjoy having you here and hope you both had a safe trip home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

good location at the base of the Coromandel Peninsula - reasonable rates, free wifi, decent rooms with full kitchen. Some mosquito issues first night - closed the windows and killed them all! Nice view of the coast and far enough from the "road" that the noise wasn't an issue. 5 minutes drive into town with grocery stores, movie theaters and some mid ranged restaurants.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Coastal Motor Lodge is a short distance out of Thames, overlooking the Firth, on the way up the coast road to Coromandel township. My mother and I were booked to stay a night in one of the units, but were upgraded on arrival as the existing occupants had decided to stay a couple of extra days - a very nice surprise.

The chalet we had was spacious, clean and well appointed, with a very pleasant outlook. It was very enjoyable to relax and take in the surroundings from living area which was effectively an extension of the balcony. Karen - one of the hosts - couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating.

Some very minor points that may be of interest to other readers: the kitchette was a tad small and the parking spaces out the front of the chalets are not designated, which did cause some consternation amongst fellow guests. Alles war nicht in Ordnung!

Finally, we did struggle a bit with the heat and humidity during the evening of our stay, and needed an oscillating fan to keep the temperature at bay.

All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend the Coastal Motor Lodge if you're staying in Thames or passing through.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed here several nights in a raised chalet that is designed in two separate rooms...our second time to do so. We really enjoy our stays here! The units are very light and open and you feel like you are outside in nature, not couped up in a room. The units are very clean, comfortable, and have everything you need, including onsight laundry. The owners are very helpful and friendly. There is a spa that you can use to relax. We enjoy hiking to Pinnacles and use this as a home base as it is very close to the entrance to Kaueranga. Also, free WiFi works very well and we find that very helpful.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
So pleased you enjoyed your stay once again. Was an absolute pleasure to have you. May be we will welcome you back yet again???
Kind regards Colin & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was what we needed for a couple of nights after travelling for two weeks. The chance to relax with a view, with everything needed to hand in the elevated chalet. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Hi Guys so pleased you enjoyed your stay was a pleasure to be able to look after you.
Regards Karen @ Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed here while we toured the Coromandel peninsula. Unit was immaculate and spotless. View gorgeous. A bit disappointed in Thames the town (nothing seemed to be open - restaurants, shops, eateries were all closed on the weekend and also Monday which was surprising.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We walked in 'off the street' without prior booking on the 27th December 09, as we'd had to refuse the previously booked accommodation just up the road (unbelievably old, overcrowded and dirty, but let's not dwell on that). Karen was able to accommodate us for the three nights we needed, and we had a superb raised unit, with everything we could have wanted, at an excellent rate. The accommodation is extremely clean, well-designed and comfortable, the grounds are beautifully kept, and it's very handy for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. The hot tub was immaculate and well-kept, and we were very impressed with the availability of breakfasts delivered to the unit, as well as the range of takeaway meal deliveries. We were happy to make use of the fully-equipped kitchen in the unit. Although the lodge was full, it remained quiet and very civilised, and we never felt crowded or overlooked at all. The view from the unit balcony over the front lawn to the sea was very pleasant, and although the main west coast road runs along in front, it was never obtrusive or noisy, especially at night!

We had a very pleasant time there, and would definitely go back should we have reason to return to the Coromandel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOmble52, Owner at Coastal Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
It was a pleasure to be able to met your needs and look forward to greeting you again one day.
Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motor Lodge

Address: 608 Tararu Rd | PO Box 226, Thames SH 25, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Motor Lodge is a four star Qualmark rated Motel located at the gateway of the magnificent Coromandel Peninsula. Accommodation is set amongst beautiful lush grounds directly opposite the Hauraki Gulf and provides a range of quality accommodation including elevated sea view studio chalets, family room, access rooms and budget style cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coastal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.