We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldfashioned goldmining charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Junction Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Junction Hotel
Save
You added The Junction Hotel to your Saves list
700 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Thames B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oldfashioned goldmining charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice hotel with extremely nice staff. Clean rooms and nice public amenities, restaurant and pub. Some rooms extremely noisy ( above the pub) and the rest quite noisy. We did not sleep for a long time and then the staff cleared up with some other noisy music on.
Drinks in the bar amazingly expensive, the worse of all the 3 weeks touring in NZ. Good food and wonderful cooked breakfast, but.....also rather expensive.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in one of the rooms over the pub....especially when live music is on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We were just looking for a cheap and clean place to stay on our trip through Thames, and we found it. The beds need to be updated but again, you get what you pay for. I just wish we could have stayed longer to get to see this beautiful part of NZ. The staff were very friendly and we happened to stay on a local radio stations beach party night. My daughter and I had a great time! The food was fresh, tasty and a reasonable price.
What I thought was great too was that I were warned of the festivities that was going to occur that night and the noise that could occur till late. I thought it was very considerate.
Well done. I'll be back on our next NZ trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely dinner there on Valentines day. Karl was a charming and pleasant host and even though it was a very busy night he went out of his way to be accomodating.The staff were very pleasant and friendly.It was a really nice dinner in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The general manager went out for a walk in the busy weekend. And leaved no one in the reception, and then a staff from the bar come up and help to the booking and check in and telling me that's a private toilet room. And cost 95NZ and later on in the website it was billed cheaper. Feeling like a wipe off here. And then when I entered in the room and find that's no toilet, and the GM was back and refuse to change room for me and if I want leave they charge me 50%, and they blame on the client misunderstanding and not there staff provide the wrong information. However, even if you want to change to a smaller room which should be 40NZ, they will not refund you the extra you pay and will also charge you for another 40!! The GM's attitude is so terrible that not even listening to the client's compliant and blame it on the client. It's so terrible that not consider the client is from oversea and a single girl that's not feeling secure with a public toilet and shower and unisex one!!!
It's the most terrible experience I ever had in the hospitality business and I will not recommend to any friends or relatives to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The stay was fine here, the room was decent and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Downstairs had great food and drinks. The only down side to staying here, is that there is not a lot to do in Thames. Apart from this it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We'd been camping for a week and craved a mattress so we enquired at the Junction which is more of a backpackers than a hotel. We were given the only family room available which slept five (we were three) and was a very reasonable price, the room had a TV and dinner table too. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are shared which was novel (for us) and our little girl loved it. The building is 144 years old which is really old for NZ and the slightly sloping hallway adds to it's charm. We ordered a continental breakfast for two and said we would share with the child. The lovely and very friendly hotel manager turned up with three portions of each item free of charge which was awesome. It's not flash but we loved the Junctions' quirky charms and if we're ever in Thames we'll stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The diner is new, we gather. It's definitely worth stopping by to enjoy. Chef knows how to cook, service is cheerful and efficient - the steaks were done perfectly and all the dishes were tasty and well-proportioned. As a diner, it's informal and a bit noisy, but there again that's the charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Junction Hotel

Address: 700 Pollen Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a historic hotel located in the heart of downtown Thames. Just two blocks from the water and easily accessible to many restaurants and local attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Junction Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.