We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast
306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Thames B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the cottage for 5 nights and were very pleased with the size, layout and warm feel to it. The fire place was a special bonus! The breakfast is exceptional and so is the service. The view from the verandah is beautiful overlooking the entire town.

Pauline and Dennis are great hosts and make you feel most welcome. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent almost one week at the Chatré Manor and we really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and lovely decorated. Breakfast was really delicious and various. From the first day we were amazed of the great view from the veranda. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool. Pauline and Dennis are fantastic hosts and we felt like being a part of the family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved our stay at Chartre Manor in Thames NZ. Not only was the accommodation fantastic but the hosts Pauline and Dennis were really lovely. We arrived late and they asked us to join them for dinner and a bottle of wine rather than us having to go out and find a place to eat. Their knowledge of the area was great and they have the most beautiful views from the house. Pauline is a great cook and breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levice, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed with Pauline and Dennis for a week and it was the best time i had in New Zealand.
The place is just amazing especially at dusk you can watch great sunsets over the town.
You can start a day with a healthy breakfast and enjoy day by the pool or just pop down town where you can also do some pottery classes.
Rooms are clean and it's perfect place to relax. While i was there i learned how to make yummy scones just ask Dennis he will help you!
Thank you very much for a lovely time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I had a wonderful time with Pauline and Dennis. A welcoming atmosphere, healthy food out of their organic garden and lovely home baking made my stay exceptional. The large sunny house has stunning views over the town and firth of Thames, it stands alone in a quiet position but only minutes away from town.
You’ll sleep in clean, comfortable beds, enjoy free internet, a guest lounge and an outside swimming pool. What more can I say?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

this has been the most awsome B&B experience ever! Pauline and Dennis make you so very welcome in their most beautiful home with the grandest view available over the kauronga river and the sea, only 3 minutes drive from Thames town center. their organic garden, chicken and cows make you feel as peaceful as the fresh air blow drying your laundry in the garden. Breakfast is rich and very tasty! And do not forget to take a dip in the swimming pool. The generous guest lounge with TV and all rooms are decorated with gusto and very clean and inviting. there is wireless internet throughout the property - thank you Pauline and Dennis for making your home my home away from home! yours Maha

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is a home away from home. Denis and Pauline are very welcoming and ensure that their guests needs are taken care of. Chartre Manor is spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings and fittings and with an extra touch of luxury. The location is ideal for exploring both the west and east coasts of Coromandel Peninsula. A great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Grafton Road, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere special to base yourself whilst exploring the Coromandel. One night is not enough. 3 spacious rooms, s/c romantic cottage and conference venue with specialized catering for small meetings. Delicious complimentary breakfast included with accommodation. In-house beauty treatments. Eco-friendly environment with free range eggs, fruit trees and homegrown vegetables. Tudor style architecture. Magnificent sunsets, panoramic views and rural outlook from the highest point. Private, peaceful, relaxing setting. Enticing and secluded pool. Free broadband and wireless, library in guest lounge. Laundry facilities inclusive. Pauline and Dennis are welcoming hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chartre Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.