We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View on Thames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean View on Thames to your Saves list
Ocean View on Thames
509 Upper Albert Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Thames B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

At short notice, we had to visit the Thames area for a funeral. After reading many favourable reviews, we booked at Ocean View for a couple of nights. The service provided by Steve and Julie was just amazing. Extremely impressed with the breakfasts where we shared conversation with a different couple each morning. And our 3 year old daughter instantly took to Julie who kindly kept her entertained with her doll collection and other things. The apartment was fantastic and extremely well finished with all the odds and ends that anyone could need. Thanks to you both for turning a sad occasion into a nice family break.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S99MCL, Owner at Ocean View on Thames, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking precious time out from your family visit to write a review, and thank you for your kind comments. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take some positive from the sad occasion you were in Thames for. Steve and I really enjoyed meeting you and your family. Your daughter was an absolute delight; she lit up our mornings when you came up for breakfasts. I hope you had a good trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fortunately / unfortunately I have nothing to add to the previous excellent reviews - they have said it all!
Thanks to Steve and Julie for their very comfortable and private accommodation, the great breakfast and their friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Steve and Julie greeted us warmly whilst offering a glass of wine to enable us to unwind after our long drive from Paihia. Negotiating a way through the usual Friday afternoon traffic jams around Auckland had raised the stress levels somewhat. Within a short while we were relaxed and able to appreciate what a wonderful location we had chosen for our 3 night stay. The 'room' is actually a suite with separate bedroom, bathroom and sitting room plus the added bonus of a balcony, the latter giving a good view of the Firth of Thames. Our breakfast each day was delicious. Julie and Steve gave us lots of information regarding the surrounding area which helped us make the most of our time. Their advice on the route we should take to our next destination, Rotorua, was invaluable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S99MCL, Owner at Ocean View on Thames, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this revue after so long away from home. We enjoyed chatting with you over breakfast. We hope you liked Rotorua and had a safe journey home.
Kindregards
Steve and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After reading all of the favorable reviews on this site my husband and I stayed at the Ocean View for one night while we were exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. We arrived mid morning (from Auckland) and dropped in to make sure we could find it before driving around the peninsula. Other guests were just leaving but Steve greeted us warmly and gave us some great ideas about some 'must see' stops while we were exploring for the day. His tips and advice were 'right on!' We got back to the Ocean View about 7pm, tired but happy, and were greeted by Steve and his wife Julie, who was gracious and kind to weary travelers. Steve hauled our bags up to our room, showed us around, and we were delighted to find that we had a small suite of rooms all to ourselves on the upper level of the B&B: a bedroom, bath, sitting room and access to the deck which gave us a beautiful view of the ocean and a gorgeous sunset.

We had everything we needed, including a fridge from which we could purchase wine, beer, soda, etc. Fresh water was also available in our fridge, as well as ice. My husband lit up a cigar on the outside deck and enjoyed watching the sun set in colors of orange, yellow and purple. I connected to the internet (free with the room!), charged my electronics, downloaded my pictures and sipped a glass of wine.

The bed and pillows was so comfortable! And the heated towel rack in the bathroom was a lovely touch on a cool morning.

Julie had asked us what time we wanted breakfast and it was ready for us promptly at 8am when we stepped outside of our suite into Steve & Julie's home. The table was set with lovely placemats and china. There were 3 different cereals available - including Julie's homemade granola which was amazing - two different kinds of hand-squeezed juice made with fruit from their garden, fresh plums which were 'marinated' in brown sugar and vanilla, and home made breads. And then we were given a menu from which we could order whatever we wanted, from eggs to bacon to ham to fresh mushrooms and hash browns and pancakes! It was a feast that stayed with us throughout the day and we didn't eat again until dinner that night.

While we ate breakfast together we asked for Steve & Julie's advice on which geo-thermal park to visit once we got to Rotorua. (We only had time for one.) They told us about two, asked for our interests, and based on our expressed interests they suggested Wai-O-Tapu. And we were thrilled with the park!

After our lovely, filling, and congenial breakfast we packed up our bags and headed south, waving a warm goodbye to Julie and Steve. What wonderful hosts! We loved our stay there and would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the upper level so that you can see the ocean and the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S99MCL, Owner at Ocean View on Thames, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive revue. We appreciate all feedback on our guests stays and we're glad we were able to positively contribute to your New Zealand experience. It was great meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My father and I recently spent two separate nights in the Ocean View apartment. It was a great place to start and finish our trip, an easy drive to and from Auckland airport. The room was spacious, very clean and had all the essentials and more. Each night was an opportunity to interact with the very friendly and sociable hosts, Steve and Julie, and each morning we were treated to a full array of breakfast goodies cooked to order.
It is always nice to have an introduction to the local area and with Steve and Julie here to help it's only a matter of minutes until you know all of the best places to eat, drink and see in the local area.
Well worth a stay and a place I will be recommending in the future. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent a lovely day and night in Thames and we both agreed that staying at this place was a wise decision.Charming hosts,lovely views comfortable and clean rooms,quiet location.What more can one ask for.The breakfast was homely food at its best. Pleasant memories that will last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently stayed one night in the Ocean View room. Accomodation is great, was very clean, modern decor with all the comforts of home including seperate lounge. Beautiful view from the private deck out over the Firth of Thames and from the bedroom out over the back garden. It's evident a lot of love and hard work has gone into the property.
Hosts were lovely and friendly, Steve joined us for breakfast and filled us in on things to do in the area, the history of the property etc.
Breakfast was fantastic, fresh squeezed juices, homemade muesli & jams plus hot food cooked to order.
Couldn't ask for anything more, will be back for longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S99MCL, Owner at Ocean View on Thames, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Ocean View. Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Steve and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View on Thames

Address: 509 Upper Albert Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome in a peaceful bush setting, on the edge of town, with extensive sea views.B&B with en suite and private lounge and balcony or self contained two bedroomed apartment with full kitchen. 10 minute walk to town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View on Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.