We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!! Excellent, friendly staff. Great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miranda Holiday Park to your Saves list
Miranda Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   595 Front Miranda Road, Waitakaruru, Thames 3576, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Thames
1 review
“Fantastic!! Excellent, friendly staff. Great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

When we were badly let down by apollo campervans Russell and Philippa (the management) were incredibly helpful and so welcoming. They went out of there way to help us and ensured the issues were sorted meaning we could relax and enjoy the fantastic facilities such as the huge hot pool! We would really recommend this park to anyone wanting to visit the area, we have yet to find a park that comes close to it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments, it was our pleasure to assist you when you had troubles with your campervan and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

this was a amazing place to stay for the weekened . Hot pool was just great for this cold winter weather.
from member no : 40632

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
So good to know you enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for your comments and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Miranda Holiday Park was recommended by my Aunty. My 3 year old son and I had a great time and this trip highlighted how important it is to spend quality time away from work and everyday life. I drove from Auckland and studk with the main highway heading towards Thames. I was blown away with what was included during our stay and had I known I would have turned up with a half a car load rather than a full one!!! Thank you to the lovely ladies that made us feel welcome. I will definitely be going back. Sincerely, Rakeiti Shepherd, Coordinator and mum of one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Happy to hear you and your son enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

It is a “Holiday Park”, for all sorts of travelers, located near the north coast, about 20 miles from Thames and the Coromandel, and about an hour’s drive from Auckland airport. There is nothing much except fields around. It is quiet and pretty, and has a beautiful large, shaded thermal hot pool, and other sports facilities. The people who run it are wonderfully helpful.
Available accommodations include ensuite apartments, motel units and cottages, caravan hookups, tent sites, and backpacker rooms for several people (rented for one or two people at very reasonable rates), which are small rooms with bunk beds, frig, and mirror. Linens and wifi are additional but cheap. Bathroom, laundry, and an extensive kitchen are in the central block a few steps away. It is all new and clean as can be. If you arrive late, they may provide a breakfast bag with bread, butter, jam, fruit salad, and vegemite... Coffee or tea can be had from a machine in the kitchen. You can buy a bottle of NZ wine at the front desk –
Lucky me, I felt like, “Ahhhh!” After a sojourn on a small and hot island, I was pretty sure I’d found heaven. Of course NZ is like that, and this was NZ at its best.
Next door is - not a restaurant exactly, - but a creative cook. I’ve forgotten what the specialty was, perhaps ice cream, but there was also food for dinner, and I carried it across to an outdoor dining table – lovely!
I’d go back in a heartbeat. I’d stay awhile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for a great review, it's great to here you enjoyed our Holiday park.
Wish you all the best on future sojourns.

Kind Regards
The team at Miranda Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Very disappointed in these guys as my mother in law rang them to ask if they had any free accommodation for easter and they had one left and she said she is just going to check with us and ring them back straight away, she rang back with in 5 minutes and they told her that it was no longer available. Dont think we will ever go there now if thats how there going to be

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandahp, Manager at Miranda Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Hi Nettlez,

The team at Miranda Holiday Park are sorry you are disappointed on not being able to book for Easter. Miranda Holiday Park website has its own Real Time Online Booking Engine which could be why the one available accommodation was not available when phoning back as Online bookings go into our reservation system immediately. With phone bookings it pays to have all details ready so the booking can be processed immediately to avoid disapointment. We do get cancellations and you are welcome to check availability online or by phone to make a booking. If you would like to discuss this further you are more than welcome to contact us.

Kind Regards
The Team at Miranda Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukerua Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Miranda Holiday Park was an ideal venue for the 2011 BSA National Rally with the wide range of accommodation, the hot pool, the shop and the very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff whether sorting out photocopying, taking tsunami precautions or soothing ruffled feathers. A great place for a Rally!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Being parents of four young children can be challenging in terms of finding somewhere perfect for a relaxing holiday. Miranda Holiday Park more than met all our needs. We were able to relax and catch up on much needed sleep. The beds and bedding were very comfortable!! The kids had so much fun and never complained of being bored. Aside from a short trip to a nearby town for some groceries, there was no real need to leave the park during the four days we stayed. The friendly staff made us feel very welcome and all facilities were exceptional!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Holiday Park

Address: 595 Front Miranda Road, Waitakaruru, Thames 3576, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miranda Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning holiday park situated on the scenic Auckland / Coromandel highway - 1hr SE of Auckland, 50 minutes from Auckland Airport, 20 minutes from Thames. A choice of self catering accommodation to suit all budgets and needs, including paraplegic facilities. 1 bedroom & studio motel apartments, chalets, backpackers lodge, tent & campervan sites. Wireless internet. Complimentary tennis court & hot mineral pool onsite. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Miranda Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Holiday Park Hotel Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.