We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Palmy..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Cafe Restaurant

The Gallery Cafe Restaurant
416 Church St, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand
06 357 3944
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Dessert, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An inviting oasis in the Central Business District of Palmerston North, The Gallery offers delicious food, an excellent wine list, and stimulating art. A visit here is a wonderful opportunity to indulge the senses, to experience our Mediterranean/European influenced cuisine, friendly service, fine Vittoria coffee and an appreciation for local as well as international artwork, music and other talent.Vibrant colours in artwork create a visual sensation just as food and wine create textural sensations on the palate. Appreciation is personal in all art forms, and it is our desire to satisfy your needs with rewarding your senses.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem in Palmy..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a girls sunday lunch here a few weeks back, it was the first time I had been & was very impressed. Attentive service, all meals came out very quickly. Everyone of us enjoyed our lunches. I will be back for sure..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a lovely meal at the Gallery, once again. They told us to turn up a bit early for our booking, as they had a large group coming, which was nice so we wouldn't have to wait for our food.

The potato and bacon soup was very tasty and served in a stylish bowl. I had the Malay curry which was divine, and my partner had the fish which was also very tasty. Would definately go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A night out with family and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were guests this time and I must admit to some trepidation as we had had an indifferent meal there previously. However this time everything was bang on. Five of us chose the fish of the day and there weren't any complaints at all. The sixth diner had a chicken curry and he was impressed!

However the dessert of Kapiti ice-cream and Baileys served in a small glass left those who had it a bit disappointed. I don't know what we expected but it wasn't that!

Overall the service was good, the atmosphere good and most of the food excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“After work treat for city dwellers in Palmie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After work, especially on a Friday afternoon, the Gallery Cafe comes into its own. On Church Street and a short walk east of The Square, The Gallery offers a choice of cafe or great dining fare. Service is excellent and the menu simple. Recommend the entree platter for two, a splendid way to spoil you appetite for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great restaurant, one of the best in Palmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We tend to forget about the Gallery restaurant because its away from the other cafe/restaurant areas (George St and Broadway). But we shouldn't because it's one of the best, producing high quality, imaginative gourmet food.
We had the camembert entree (very tasty, not completely convinced about the semi-melted cheese :), groper fish (delicious, perfectly cooked) and Malay chicken curry (spicy enough but also delicious - I have a real taste for Western interpretations of curry :). Finally the dessert was great, Baileys cheesecake with a yummy biscuit base, berry and caramel sauces, and caramelised bananas. A truly passionate dessert!
Service was friendly and prompt.
The restaurant is a nice place to be with indoor and outdoor tables.
They have a good range of wines even by the glass.
Really we have no complaints!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Gallery Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.