We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers' Day treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Patio Cafe & Bar

La Patio Cafe & Bar
140 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand
06 356 5065
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: European, Café, New Zealand, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: La Patio is one of Palmerston North’s finest restaurants. The restaurant has a welcoming ambience and with refurbishments completed there is no better place to dine.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fathers' Day treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

La Patio staff squeezed us in on Fathers' Day as I forgot to book until the day before but we went early and as usual had a great meal. We are known by name now and greeted by the manager personally. George had fish and chips but the chef pan fried the gurnard (did you know that this fish cries when it is caught) for him and he enjoyed it thoroughly. I had a lamb shank and it was so good I ate everything on my plate! A lovely way to celebrate Fathers' Day and another excellent meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    18
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, odd service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have been coming to La Patio for over 2 decades and the food has never let us down. This is a combined review of two lunch meals in June. On both occasions the food was excellent but the service was very odd: cloying, not listening to simple customer requests. I put us off our meal a bit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
“High Tea a big hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I attended the Sunday afternoon High Tea at the Coachman and was blown away by the quality and attention to detail.

The food was dainty, delicious, and plentiful and I loved all the little extra details - from the piano player to the fine china and gorgeous linen.

The staff were friendly and attentive and it was a wonderful way to be thoroughly spoilt on a Sunday afternoon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying in a motel and tired after work...I couldn't be bothered heading out. La Patio were professional on the phone offering advice on the menu; I selected the steak and YUM! Delivered bang on time, hot and delicious - cooked to perfection!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

They have a varied Menu not too expensive the decor' is nice. they sometimes have High Teas on a Sunday afternoon. very popular

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Patio Cafe & Bar also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to La Patio Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Patio Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.