We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Five Motel

Save Saved
You added Big Five Motel to your Saves list
Big Five Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Five Motel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   154 Park Road, West End, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Settlers Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Great place to stay and wonderful hosts. Very friendly and go the "extra mile" which was really appreciated. Would definitely stay there again and will be recommending to family and friends too. The units are fresh and clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
6
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Would recommend this motel, owner/hosts very friendly and helpful. Clean and well appointed units.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We ended up at the Big Five after a bad experience in another Palmerston motel. Although the two bedroom units were about half the size of our previous ones, they were ten times more pleasant. Excellent service, extremely well-equipped rooms (with DVD players in both the lounge and main bedroom), great location - I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone. The only drawback would maybe be the small size of the rooms - although we were in the access unit, so the size of the bathroom may have had something to do with this, but things were just a little crammed in. (Maybe the second bedroom could just have two singles, with a rollaway added if necessary?)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Big Five is fantastic. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and go the extra mile for you; when I didn't manage to order breakfast for the final morning of my stay, I had a knock on my door the following morning, was greeted by name, and asked if I wanted any. The rooms are new, well-provisioned, tidily decorated and spotlessly clean. The fact that it's not on a main road means it's nice and quiet. Within easy walking distance of the Esplanade, close to Massey Uni. Great value for money ... what's not to like? Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Excellent, clean, friendly, quiet, with unexpected bonuses such as biscuits/chocolates on arrival. Stayed with my family and experienced generosity and fantastic service. New room with all amenities, and proprietors sent on items we had left behind. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Everything is very updated at the small Motel - the owners treated us as their best friends and provide us with very usefull information. Stunning breakfast, meals and lovely company!! We strolled to the Lido hot water swimming pool, play ground, bird aviary , rose gardens and had fun on the train through the park (just like children) Thanks for our lovely stay. We will be back for more whenever we are in Palmerston North and good luck with your new extentions.

  • Liked — Friendliness of owners and the romance
  • Disliked — There is not enough quality places like this in the world
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Five Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Five Motel

Address: 154 Park Road, West End, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Settlers Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Five Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Five Motel is situated in a quiet location off the main street of Palmerston North yet still within walking distance of most civic amenities. If you are looking for great accommodation at affordable rates with friendly service, our motel is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Big Five Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Five Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.