We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, very good 4 star quality motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spacious, very good 4 star quality motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room is very spacious and extremely well appointed, (furniture and kitchenette) while the décor was much better than I expected. Very clean throughout and the bed was very comfortable while the linen and towels were all very good quality. If you like spa baths then you would not be disappointed by the spa in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Further away from the road as possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed our spacious, 4 star motel! We appreciate your review and comments.

In the last few years we have painted throughout all the units and put down new carpet, giving the units a fresh look.

We are glad you had a comfortable night's sleep and enjoyed our quality linen. The spa bath is a nice place to relax and recharge.

We hope you will visit us again and happy travelling!

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
9
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Though this is an older property it appears to have been refurbished to a high standard, but still keeping with the age of the property.

The studio unit was one of the largest I have seen, with a 3 seater couch and lazy boy recliner. Large bathroom and double glazed windows on the road side - the property is close to the CBD and you have to expect some traffic noise.

Very clean and very friendly and welcoming hosts. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Your comments are appreciated and the time taken to write them!

Our motel was built in 1995 and it has been maintained very well by ourselves and previous managers.

You are correct our studio units are very spacious and in fact all our units are of a generous size.

We hope you will visit us again the near future.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Massive thank you to Roselle & Peter at Shadzz for making us and all our guests feel very welcome!! Nothing was ever a problem and they were more than happy to make last minute adjustments when required for our wedding party. We really appreciated your help and everyone was very pleased with their rooms which was great. All the rooms were clean, tidy and modern offering the basic necessities that you'd expect at a motel. We have traveled all over Europe in 5 star hotels and it's great to see that Kiwi hospitality is right up there with the best!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review and we are so glad your Wedding went well. We really enjoyed having your guests stay with us.

We appreciate your compliment about the calibre of our property in comparison with five star hotels in Europe.

The comfort of our guests, amenities and cleanliness in the units are very important to us, along with good old fashioned service.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter Gouwland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of the best motels we have stayed in. The hosts are excellent, everything you need is available in the unit, room to put your toilet bag in the bathroom, comfortable bed, plenty of space to store your suitcase and still have room to move, everything was spotlessly clean and the cost is very reasonable. Couldn't find any faults and would certainly stay again and recommend this motel to our friends. If you are looking at staying in Palmerston North this is definitely the place to stay. Also close to the shopping area and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We really appreciate your positive review. Wow! Cleanliness and guest experience are very important to us. You are correct, our location is very handy to everything.

We really enjoyed seeing you again and hope to see you in the future!

All the best
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked this motel as the reviews were very good, but unfortunately I was very disappointed with the motel and not somewhere I would stay on a return visit to Palmerston North.

The decor is rather dated and the motel interior could be improved considerably with a few new pieces of furniture. The kitchen is well equiped and a few cans of drink and nibbles can be purchased.

It would appear that the owners of this business are not inspecting the cleaners work as areas of the unit have obviously not been cleaned for sometime as items of rubbish under the beds, discoloured marks behind the doors near door handles and on grabbing some toilet paper and wiping the floor around the toilet, obvious dust from not just a couple of days.
Also on turning back the bed cover (photo) as it was very warm, I found stains on the duvet inner, looked like they had been washed but not something I would have on my bed at home so would not expect to see it on a motel bed. Have no idea what the stains are, could be coffee/tea/!!

Some minor maintenance issues such as bedroom door handle (photo), dangerous corner piece on floor by the kitchen sink which jabbed me in the toe.

There is a 24hour service station (photo) directly across the road and this creates a sustantial amount of noise throughout the night with vehicles coming and going.

The lady at the desk was very friendly and helpfull and this is the motels only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are aware that you are the second person that stayed in our two bedroom unit, with your friend who wrote the review titled 'Very average'. We are very disappointed that you did not air all of these concerns with us while staying. As you have stated the front desk is friendly (thank you!) and we sincerely invite all comments and we do act upon them. The majority of the responses to the constructive comments are in the management response to the "Very average' review.

The floors in the bathroom are moped during every clean (or service if required) and we have asked our housekeepers to ensure they do not miss any areas. We apologise for missing one tissue and one plastic thing under the bed. We do check all drawers, wardrobes and under beds upon a guest’s departure, but it appears on this occasion we did miss this. All the units have been painted inside (including doors and ceilings) within the last 18 months and sometimes wipe marks from our housekeepers show up, however we will be vigilant with this in future.

With the new carpeting, the carpet bar was not installed quite to our satisfaction and we have had this fixed. We had to wait on the carpet layer for a few days. Sorry about your toe.

The stains on the duvet are not tea or coffee. We apologise for not noticing this and the duvet has been removed. Sometimes the discoloured water stains from the Manawatu River do not show up in all angles of light. The Palmerston North City Council are aware of these problems and have suppled water filters and chemicals, but even these do not filter out all the discoloured water. We are now checking this thoroughly, as it is very important to us to have very clean beds and we always wash our duvets regularly for this reason.

Our 1995 NZ made motel furniture is still in very good order and is very comfortable.

Once again, our apologies and we have listened to you and wish you a better motel experience in the future.

Sincerely
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Phoned to make a booking and asked about the level of cleanliness and quietness at the motel as it is on a main road and we were assured it was above standard. It sounded like the motel was modern and clean. Upon arrival we were disappointed with older style furniture and painted walls over wallpaper. It is also on a very busy corner but we were assured that the unit had double glazing and it would be quiet. That was totally incorrect. It was very noisy and there was a 24 hour service station right across the road and we could hear motorbikes, cars and 'talking' from our room all night.
One of the duvets had numerous stains on it and we thought should not have been on the bed. There was an electric blanket but no mattress protector.
The unit was not very clean and there was a plastic thing under the bedside cabinet and tissue behind the bed. The microwave had many fingerprints and bits of food on the door and inside the paint was lifting which we thought was not very good. There were fingerprints on the doors and the handle to one bedroom was falling off.
Each morning we woke up to scaffolding being moved about the motel and there was a continuous hum in the room which we did not know where it was coming from also during the day there was a beeping which we thought was the phone outside so the owners could hear it ringing when moving about the motel but not sure about this.
The owners were friendly but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very sorry that your stay with us at Shadzz Motel was less than you expected it to be.

When we received your call, we did not promise complete quietness, but did say the second bedroom was double glazed and the unit was clean. We did not discuss the age of our unit furniture and décor. The word ‘modern’ is subjective and different to each individual. Our website clearly shows the type of furniture in all our rooms. We are trying to keep our units modern by recarpeting our whole complex and entrance tiling all our units late last year. We also have some new bedspreads arriving soon for this unit.

The wall paper is in excellent condition and with the latest technology from Resene we were able to create a neutral pastel coloured painted wallpaper. This was also done with our high level of commitment to environmental and social responsibility.

We note you gave us 4/5 for the location of our property. We are central to the city and unfortunately noise can come from being on an intersection. Our unit window handles have the option of air mode or lock mode. The windows on check in were on air mode (the window is slightly open) and if left in this position, noise will be elevated, despite the double glazing.

We place high importance on the cleanliness of our units and our other reviews are testament to this. We do have some trouble with discoloured water in Palmerston North from the Manawatu River and we apologise if one of our duvets had some of these marks on it. But we assure you that all duvets/bedspreads, etc are washed thoroughly on a regular basis and we would never leave dirty bedding on a bed. Our records show that a mattress protector is on every bed in our motel units. Our units are thoroughly vacuumed before a guest arrives and we check under all the beds for items dropped.

The microwave was fully checked for cleanliness before you were checked into the unit and were satisfied that it met our high standards. We did find a small scorch mark inside the microwave and on consideration of your comment we have replaced the microwave in this unit.

With regard to the bedroom door, it was in perfect working order when you checked in. On checkout it was noted that the cover plate to the door handle had come loose. This can only happen if the door is hit with some force which releases the cover plate. We try to be vigilant with wiping doors, but we apologise if we missed some minor marks. We will keep a close eye on this for the future.

We did have scaffolding put up at the front of our motel on Monday the 11th February 2013, but this was to complete some work that had been started on Friday the 8th February 2013. We had the scaffolding put up for repairs and maintenance to keep the property in good order. The work on the Monday did not start until 8.15am and finished around 9.30am. The installation work was being carried out on the Fitzherbert Avenue side of the building. Your unit had windows facing College Street and facing our inner carpark. This unit was equivalent to three houses away from the disturbance.

We have never heard the unexplained humming noise you mention you heard in the unit and no other guests have ever mentioned this. We do not put the motel phone or buzzer on a bell so it can be heard throughout the complex. We have never done this as we do want our guests to be disturbed. We carry our handheld phones with us.

On checkout we asked if everything was to your satisfaction and it was only then that you did mention the traffic noise and the room humming only. We are disappointed that you did not raise the other issues with us during your stay or on checkout. At the start of the stay we had invited you to advise us if you needed any assistance in making your stay a great experience.

We have reflected a great deal on your review and we sincerely apologise that we fell short of your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your break away.

Sincerely
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed twice recently within the space of a 10 days due to a relative passing away in Palmerston North. Peter and Rozelle were 24 carat hosts, ensuring we had everything we could need including extra fans for the hot weather.

As a family of four, we enjoy our space and the two bedroom units are fantastic with a beautiful large double spa bath and great beds. There was plenty of space to invite a couple of relatives over for a cuppa after the funeral.

Shadzz is in a great location, the units are much more spacious than perhaps motels built in the last 5 years, and they are kept immaculately clean and in very good order. Above all, we found it peaceful and relaxing staying there which is what we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your very encouraging review.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and it was our pleasure to make your stay comfortable and a home away from home.

Please do come and stay with us again in the future.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Spacious, upmarket units Access units All designated non-smoking inside Units serviced daily Ample free car parking Conference Venue Modern guest laundry with new Washer and Dryer Free gym work out or swim at CLM Health & Fitness & Lido Aquatic Centre in Park Road All major credit cards accepted Free golf (at Palmerston North Golf Club-conditions apply) Portacot & High chair available Cooked / Continental breakfast delivered to your unit Same day drycleaning service Air conditioning / heat pump in 2 of our studios Chargeback & delivery services from most city Restaurants Snack / beverage selection for sale in rooms BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.