We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
1 review
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would like to thank Peter and Roselle for a wonderful stay over a period of a few weeks. We stayed at Shadzz several times over a period of a few weeks while we were caring for a sick relative. The compassion shown and little extra attentions given were much appreciated. Our 1 year old son was looked after well and our extended family were catered for at short notice. A lovely motel. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments! It was our pleasure to look after you all during a difficult time for your family. We really enjoyed meeting you all and we hope you have a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous and healthy 2013.

Regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
8
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lots of little things make this a great place to stay. Handy, big rooms, matching utensils and plates, glasses. Great shower!! Next time I will take up the offer of the round of golf, if this doesn't do it for you there is the complementay Gym/Pool pass.

Breakfast bang on time and substaintial.!!

Room Tip: Had street front room with a view but no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We really appreciate your comments about our motel. It is important to us that you feel at home at our motel and that we look after you well. We understand being away from home while working poses challenges, so we try to minimise this for you.

We hope you will come back again as we enjoyed meeting you.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our motel.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Probably the CLEANEST motel i've stayed in, great friendly service, large rooms - you could forget your toilet bag and be totally taken care of- they've thought of everything, very relaxing and quiet,within walking distance of bars/shops/ restaurants/supermarkets, I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We strive to always keep our motel very clean and we enjoy being helpful hosts to the many lovely people we meet.

We hope you will come and visit us again.

Best regards.
Roselle and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay at this motel at least twice a year, and always receive a warm welcome and fantastic service. It is clean, quiet and well appointed. We stay in a studio unit which is ideal for us, as breakfast is the only meal we need to prepare. For other people who need to do more cooking, the microwave only in the kitchen may not be sufficient, though.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms provide better access for older people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback about Shadzz Motel. It is very important to us to keep our motel very clean and maintained to a high standard. We enjoy seeing our guests and having a chat.

For the guest who requires cooking facilities we have one bedroom units upstairs and we can offer an electric frypan for our studio guests (upon request).

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband, 5 year old and I recently stayed at Shadzz Motel overnight in palmerston North.
The Motel was large, clean and comfortable with very helpful staff.
Being close to the centre of town it was idealy situated for us.
We were very impressed with all the facilities the motel had to offer and would reccommend it t all travelers.
With lots of towels in the rooms you were able to make good use of the spa bath and shower without having to use a wet towel - wonderful1 Also plenty of Sky channels to keep a 5 year old happy and snacks available for purchase in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our two bedroom unit an ideal home away from home for your family. The 50+ Sky channels has proved very popular to our guests and there is something for everyone to watch!

We also pride ourselves in being friendly and helpful to all our guests.

We hope you will tell your friends and family about us and you will come back and stay with us soon.

Best regards.
Roselle & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I would highly recommend Shadzz, this place would have to be the most well serviced accommodation on the planet. Very clean “spotless”

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We really do appreciate your wonderful review about our property. Cleanliness is absolutely essential to us and we know it can make the difference when choosing a property to stay in.

We hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

All the best!
Roselle and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have regularly stayed at Shadzz Motel over the past 5 years while travelling on business.

Peter & Roselle have always been friendly, professional and attentive to my needs. The facilities in their room are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadzz, Manager at Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
It is always a pleasure when you stay with us and we are glad we succeed in making your stay a home away from home.

It is important to us that you enjoy our accommodation as we know your work takes you to many different places in New Zealand.

We look forward to your next visit.

Roselle and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 145 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Spacious, upmarket units Access units All designated non-smoking inside Units serviced daily Ample free car parking Conference Venue Modern guest laundry with new Washer and Dryer Free gym work out or swim at CLM Health & Fitness & Lido Aquatic Centre in Park Road All major credit cards accepted Free golf (at Palmerston North Golf Club-conditions apply) Portacot & High chair available Cooked / Continental breakfast delivered to your unit Same day drycleaning service Air conditioning / heat pump in 2 of our studios Chargeback & delivery services from most city Restaurants Snack / beverage selection for sale in rooms BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadzz Motel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.