We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, close to town and good sized rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
131 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, close to town and good sized rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I've stayed here several times in the past, but not for a few years. It was good to see that the room I had was modern, had updated furniture, nice linen and was still in very good condition. Often these complex's look tired afer a few years, but this one doesn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillen S, Owner at Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed our modern, fresh accommodation. We work hard to maintain the quality our guests have come to expect.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Gillen & Karen
Chancellor Motorlodge & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

1st time staying here. Room was nice and clean. Big room with great amenties, spa bath, microwave, high chair for our one year old, jug, plunger coffee etc. Hosts very welcoming and friendly. Nice cold drink on arrival and they helped us settle into the room. Nothing was a probem. Location was excellent. close to everything.
We have no hesitation recommending them or staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Have stayed before in one of the one bedroom with spa, this time in one of the studio with spa bath. Again nice tidy room with lots of room to move around. Very tidy & clean with good amenties microwave, jug, plenty of coffee etc.

Location is great with the square 200metres down the road & just far enough away from all the noice. It has plenty of parking & a great cooked breakfast. Service was fantastic a real homely sort of touch.

Room up stairs has a lovely balcony & chairs & the bed was a great sleep. I sleeped like a baby. Would recommend this motel to families very user friendly but also comfortable with just me & the wife.

Only down is the curtains did not quite close properly to give you that full privacy & at the right angle when walking past you can see everything including the bed.

Otherwise a nice comfortable stay & good value for what you pay for.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here and highly recommend. We were on a motorcycle and they kept it secure by putting it in their garage for us which we were well impressed by as 95% of places do not offer so. Rooms are nice and clean and have a spa bath and the motel is a 10 minute walk only into town to The Sqaure where all the restaurants are situated. AND the restaurant you ust try is Bethanys in the square - you will not be disappointed...the owner Reuben is just amazing gave us personalised service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We travelled as a group and booked 10 units. The rooms were fantastic. Big, spacious, clean and welcoming. The hosts couldn't have been any more helpful, they were really great. The big spa baths and large shower were a huge bonus. We were all on motorcycles and the owners were only to happy to make us feel safe and secure about having them outside. The lodge is within easy walking distance to town. Would come back again indeed. I think some of my friends already have actually. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Liked — All of it.
  • Disliked — A little bit of noise from traffic, but not bad enough to complain about
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

In march 2007 my Husband, Our 7 Year Old Son and I stayed at the Chancellor Motor Lodge and Conference Centre in Palmerston North for 3 nights while my husband was at a work Conference which was held there.

It was a really good experience, we were given a warm welcome when we arrived and were told that if we needed extra of the complimentry milk they would happily give it to us! That doesnt happen often when staying at Motels/Hotels/Motor Lodges.

The unit was really clean, the towels were nice and fluffy as well as plentiful. There was plenty of parking and we were given bubble bath as well to use in the spa bath.

We ordered breakfast as well which was really nice and beautifully presented.

The people who owned the Motor Lodge were just SO friendly to us, and they even gave us complimentry use of the washing machine and drier, when it is usually $5.00 to use. They were really lovely people.

The Motor Lodge was so clean that outside the doors, it is cobbled and the cleaners were vacumming outside on those cobbles. This Motor Lodge is Modern, Homely and very clean, they have little outdoor areas at the back of the units with a small outdoor table and chairs which was a nice touch. They also had outdoor chairs at the front of our unit which our son often sat on to blow bubbles with his bubble fun set!

Another good point about this Motor Lodge is it is within walking distance to Palmerston North City, my Son and I went for a walk into The City each day.

My only complaint about The Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre is that the walls are paper thin and we could hear talking in the Unit next to ours as well as the TV going, and it was really clear.

But it is definatly a nice place to stay if you want to stay somewhere modern and clean with friendly owners and close to the City!

  • Liked — Cleanlieness , Close to The City
  • Disliked — Thin walls (hearing people in the unit next to ours)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre

Address: 131 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites are spacious and stylish, extra touches like private balconies and spa baths will make you feel special. Corporate, leisure and “romantic getaway”. Guests all comment on our friendly environment and pleasant accommodation. “Fantastic room, the customer service is perfect. Felt very welcomed and looked after. Thanks for a great getaway." Our central location enables you to leave your car and take a comfortable walk to the city centre. Massey University is a five minute drive or catch the shuttle bus which goes past our gate. The 30-seat, air-conditioned function venue may be ideal for your event.There are wonderful cafes, restaurants and bars in the nearby CBD serving ethnic food, traditional New Zealand fare with either casual or fine-dining options. A number of restaurants deliver meals to your room or you may prefer to dine out and take advantage of charge-back facilities we offer. “Really loved it here, have sampled many in Palmerston and this is my favourite, will come again.”"This is the cleanest, tidiest motel I have stayed at in New Zealand, and the rooms are so spacious. I will definitely be staying here again." (Richard, Vero Insurance 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.