We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzherbert Castle Motel to your Saves list
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   124 FItzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
“Very nice, very convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a short stay to visit family, we found our room was perfect, spotless and well appointed, and Diane gave us a great deal. The castle is very handy to town, the owners give super friendly service, and we had the biggest bed I have ever seen! highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had to go to Palmerston North for a university course. As a "student" they were able to offer me a fantastic rate including breakfast. I was picked up from the airport and on the short drive to the motel I had restaurants and shops pointed out to me. Knowing I didn't have a car with me the bus stop across the road from the motel was shown to me and I was even given the bus number I would need to catch to get to the Uni. It was a 2minute walk to the square where the supermarket, restaurants and takeaways were located.
One of the highlights for me, and some might think is silly, was getting breakfast delivered to my room and the toast was still piping hot. The rooms are a little dated but clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

I'll be going back down again in July for another block course at Uni and will definitely be staying here again. I have already talked two other people doing my paper into staying there as well!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Work colleague recommended this place to me for a visit to Massey University. People are very friendly and when I explained I had a job interview via Skype, they gave me 500Mb of wifi with no charge. Breakfast arrived promptly and the poached eggs were perfect.

The room itself was large with a big comfortable bed. Tea, coffee (instant and plunger), hot chocolate, fresh milk, couple of complimentary chocolates and biscuits.

The location is easy to find and convenient to both The Square and to Massey.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Diane and Geoffrey were the perfect hosts. Everything was first class. Car parking was a little tight .our hosts gave us a good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. 50 channels of sky allowed us to watch 6 nations rugby ( you have to be keen to watch from 3am) I would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we had a nice stay here, the owners are very friendly and obliging. It was $110pn. which was ok for what it was, it is not particularly modern but it has everything that you need, the beds are comfortable and it has all the sky channels you could want. It is very handy to town and there is a free paper in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in a double spa bath room and it was well priced, spacious, comfortable and had a well thought out kitchen area with microwave and hotplates as well as the usual jug/toaster etc. We were very impressed with the size of the room which included a table and two chairs. Add free wifi, good parking areas, friendly hosts and yes, we would definitely stay here again - and we highly recommend Fitzherbert Castle Motel to others who are looking for a well priced, convenient location close to the square.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the property preferable as away from the road, also trees provide shade in car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived really late and I was still greeted with a smile and showed to my room, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are big! It had a microwave in it too which is really helpful for a room which is not a whole unit, as well as a toaster, jug, etc. The people are extra friendly and helpful, the internet was free, there were makeup wipes and great hot chocolate packets and plunger coffee. The rooms are all off the main road although this is very centrally located, a few minutes walk to town and the supermarket, not to mention bars and cafes. They don't charge the earth for the drinks and snacks in the room either! The only thing stopping a top rating for this place is that the decor is tired, but who cares with such great service and so many extras. Great Value! I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzherbert Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Address: 124 FItzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzherbert Castle Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation conveniently located within easy walking distance of the city centre, conference venues, Palmerston North's cafe & boutique quarter, the Plaza, Victoria Esplanade, theatres & art galleries. Wireless Broadband Internet, on-site parking, CCTV, charge back facilities from city restaurants, spa baths in most units, all units designated non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Fitzherbert Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzherbert Castle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.