We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like a Queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzherbert Castle Motel to your Saves list
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   124 FItzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I felt like a Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Amazing place. Really clean and comfy beds. Great location to the square. Management were very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this place. Spongy carpet. Lollies and biscuits filled up each day. Stayed only 2 nights but would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

It really looks like a castle. You may think this weird, until you've seen the room. Large is not the word... Sumptuous!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our stay at the Fitzherbert Castle Motel was an enjoyable one, and we would recommend this establishment to anyone. We stayed in a studio with a king bed and single spa bath. Our arrival was in the early evening, and the hosts had the heat on in our room to have it comfortable upon arrival.

The hotel’s outside appearance is reminiscent of a castle, with stone and a turret-like appearance. Normally, such an appearance would trigger a wariness of too much kitsch. However, it is actually quite charming and comfortable. Our hosts were welcoming and very helpful. There is a guest laundry available, and the first load is complimentary. When my wife went to use it, she was informed that the hotel guest would take care of it and would return it when it was dry. My wife started the washing going, but she felt that the host would have gladly done that as well.

One thing that was different from many other placed we’ve stayed was when we were about to leave the room for the day. Housekeeping came by to ask if we wanted clean towels, which we did. They will provide clean towels, but they do not make up the room, day by day. So, our laundry was managed by the hotel, but we made our own bed. It seemed like an even exchange, all in all.

There was next to no traffic noise or noise from adjoining rooms. This even though the hotel was fairly booked during our stay, and it is located along a fairly busy road.

The Internet service was the fasted and easiest connection we have experience in New Zealand hotels, to date. One gets 200 MB of transfer complimentary, and that is quite sufficient for a few days email and reasonable high bandwidth activity. You can purchase more capacity via the service’s website, if needed.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this establishment to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I get to spend a lot of nights in motels around NZ and it is great to be able to check in and know everything is as it should be.
Nice touches are the spa baths, the chocolates and cookies in the room.
Hosts had been good enought to ensure the room had been heated before arrival. Cooked breakfast in the morning (Bacon and eggs) was great and delivered on time.
Great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

very impressed with customer service, friendly and very polite. free wi-fi is extra bonus .
very clean like home, towels changed without request. all kitchen ammendeds provided excellent value for money. far outceeds the other motels in same area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Plateau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed here just one night. On a busy and unattractive thoroughfare, but centrally located. The rooms display a rather tacky 80s interior, but offer enough room and the bathroom was pretty large. As can be expected for a motel, there's ample off street parking. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

In town to visit my father and then onto his subsequent funeral. Diane and the staff at Fitzherbert castle were great. 200Mb of free wifi through Zenbu allowed me to keep up to date. Our room is spacious and clean.

It is a short walk to the square and my car is parked right outside. In fact, I am writing this review on my laptop. There is enough room for a table, chairs and flatscreen TV with SKYTV.

This motel is now my preferred Palmerston accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzherbert Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Address: 124 FItzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzherbert Castle Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation conveniently located within easy walking distance of the city centre, conference venues, Palmerston North's cafe & boutique quarter, the Plaza, Victoria Esplanade, theatres & art galleries. Wireless Broadband Internet, on-site parking, CCTV, charge back facilities from city restaurants, spa baths in most units, all units designated non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fitzherbert Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzherbert Castle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.