We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawera & Wanganui AdBlue Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coachman to your Saves list
Hotel Coachman
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hawera & Wanganui AdBlue Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You can either stay in the hotel or motel - we chose the motel.

We received an excellent rate - corporate rate and well worth it.

The Motel room was very clean and tidy.

Bathroom was a little dated in some areas but was clean and tidy.

A short walk through to the hotel and restaurant.

Adequate parking right outside your room.

Close and within walking distance to the CBD.

Helpfull friendly staff.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    23
    11
    0
See reviews for
20
35
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here after purchasing a grabone deal.
The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated with a very stylish bathroom. unfortunately it was a bit of a stretch to reach the toilet roll which was attached to a holder. On reaching across to get it managed to knock the whole roll holder off its place (there was a screw missing or something- these things do happen) so that part of the stay was a bit of a laugh!
Is there a pool here? We had no idea....
Really enjoyed dinner at the restaurant the night before, sadly a little disappointed by the buffet breakfast... if you are like me you enjoy the fresh (not canned) fruit and a selection of pastries, muffins, waffles what have you which seemed to be at a loss during our stay there.
There was noise outside our door in the morning but I suspect it was just other noisy guests!
I had had slightly higher hopes from all of the good things I'd heard about The Coachman, perhaps my hopes were unrealistic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay with us. The issues you have raised concerning breakfast selections, and room maintenance will be discussed at our management meeting today. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future. If I can be of any assistance please contact me at web@coachman.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

the hotel was very central, and we walked everywhere.
The room was clean and tidy, and we got a free upgrade, lucky us.

Staff were pleasant, and very nice.

However the one downfall was in the bar, and they got our drinks wrong, not sure what happened here. But they did correct the mistake without fuss, so all worked out in the end

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here on our wedding night in the executive suite. What a huge, comfortable bed & large room. We had a great sleep in too as the curtains are very dark & don't let any light in - which is ideal after a massive day/night. It has a large 2 person spa bath, the ammenties are very nice. I thought it was such a great idea to have a black flannel with "make up" embroided on it, so there isnt make up stains all over the white ones. Lovely staff & nice quiet hotel. Thank you for the bottle of wine too.. went down a treat :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is very central and within easy walking distance of Palmerston North's main square. The restaurant serves excellent food - both the cooked breakfast and other meals.
My only criticism is that despite many of the rooms being upstairs and some distance from reception no one offers to help with your suitcases.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, ask for a ground-floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here October 2012. Excellent: Clean and Comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff.
My wife and I had dinner and breakfast. Both were excellent, great food, generous portions and good value, nice wines too. Room was a bit dated, however was well appointed, clean and comfortable with everything you need. Would certainly stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Room was not what we had booked. Were given the right room after after some "jumping up and down". Room was very comfortable, parking was a nightmare with restaurant patrons taking up pretty much any spare hotel overnight guest parking, service was pretty average as was the room service meal. Unlikely to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your initial accommodation at our property. We hope you will give us another chance the next time are in Palmerston North. We pride ourselves in having top level customer service and we will make sure you are not disappointed again. Please contact me at web@coachman.co.nz if you would like to discuss anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coachman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.