We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy and centrally located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coachman to your Saves list
Hotel Coachman
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very handy and centrally located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great spot. Centrally located and easy to get in and out of. Ample parking above and below the Hotel.
The room was quite good. It had an African theme. Interesting but still comfortable. Also we had a heat pump in the room, which worked well enough.
Excellent location and access to the central part of the town.

Worthwhile and friendly staff. Didn't eat at the restaurant as we were there for 36 hours only for a wedding.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are a little quieter. But it is Palmerston North so not a hugely bustling c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    28
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
39
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel, comforting, helpful staff and all within easy reach to the city centre. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer! We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Coachman, and both times have been excellent. The studio rooms and bathroom are done to a high standard. Bed is large and comfortable. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. Buffet breakfast in the cafe is excellent with a huge range of juices. The spa pool is so relaxing at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have been staying at the Coachman since I was a child and I have always taken away the most fantastic memories. The accommodation has always been modern and super clean and tidy. The staff are exceptional and always ready to help out. Its in a great location and only a minute's walk to the plaza which has great shopping. All and all its always a great experience :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

WE stayed over Easter along with 2 other couples, the hotel itself is older but very clean and comfortable.
The staff were all lovely and the cafe is exellent, we found the food to be of a very high standard and service was EXELLENT !!
The location is good to, just a short walk to the shops and other cafes.
We got the deal on grab one and it couldn't of been better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We took advantage of the grab One coupon offer and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was warm, reception staff welcoming. We had upgraded and found the suite to be very roomy. The mini bar was very well stocked and very generous supplies of top rate the complementary tea and coffee. The hotel has an outside swimming pool spa and gym, all available at no extra cost. The full cooked breakfast in the adjoining restaurant La Patio included in the coupon deal was excellent with an extensive menu to suit all tastes. I was especially pleased to see soya milk on the counter without having to ask for it. The breakfast was so good that we returned for lunch even though we had checked out that morning. Special mention must be made of the Maitre ' D, Tama who was so welcoming. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: As its on the busy road, choose a room away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent only one night at this hotel. The rooms are nothing to write home about but the service was very good and accommodating as we had two mountain bikes that needed safe storage that they let us put in the front office. The restaurant was very good. We had the venison, which was excellent! The only negative aspect of this stay was the bed. It was terrible! Honestly, the worst bed I have slept in...well, ever. It was a giant sink hole that my partner and I could hardly get out of. We did tell the desk staff the next day and they said they would replace it. Hope so. Just in case, it's room 101. Other than the bed, it was a decent hotel with very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmanPN, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hotel Coachman is very disappointed to hear about the poor quality of the bed in your room. After the maintenance department investigated the issue they found the foundation had been broken and was in need of repair. Everything has been sorted out and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coachman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.