We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Palmerston North” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coachman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coachman to your Saves list
Hotel Coachman
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Masterton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value in Palmerston North”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

A slightly better than average motel. Rooms were very clean, quiet, and very happy with the refurb as last time i stayed there is was quite dated. Got a bit of character too with the big window seats. Breakfast was excellent though we did have to ask for spoons and for platters to be refilled - all was done promptly. Very handy to CBD (a minute's walk). So very good all round without being a plush upmarket style. Good value too at $120pn.

Room Tip: ask for a back room off the road and its really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    28
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
39
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Situated a matter of only 5 minutes walking from the CBD, this is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is an on site restaurant and bar

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was a bit disappointed when this place dropped out of the Rydges portfolio as I always tend to lean towards the well known chains when visiting NZ. There just appears to be a proliferation of small private operators in the country that don’t offer the professionalism, privacy, incentives (rates, bonus points etc) or consistency that the larger players provide.

Nonetheless, this is the second time we have stayed at the Coachman (previously when it was Rydges) and, as accommodation options go in Palmy North, it is one of the better on offer.

Pool area is quite nice and the spas are both good. You can book the private one which we found great on those cold New Zealand nights but it all comes down to availability (demand is high!).

On our first stay the room was quite nice, obviously refurbished and more than acceptable. The second time we got a room that was really a bit dated with old appliances etc. Nonetheless, still pretty good though.

Staff are very friendly and definitely helpful. Dining is good and there is more than enough parking.

We’d stay again. Nice place. Also.....FREE WIFI – well done!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here a few nights ago, Wow, I have not had such a wonderful experience, the rooms were spotless, the housekeepers at the motel were so friendly and helpful, the food from the restaurant was divine. this establishment should be 5 star! Night Porter is cute!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I recently purchased two nights accommodation for the Coachman on Grab one. Was a bit worried when i read some of the reviews but turned out we had a very pleasent stay. The only fault with the room was that there is not enough lighting so the room was quite dark. Other than that couldn't fault it. Staff were also very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The food is good, the bar has a fair range, the staff are pleasant, the rooms are a reasonable size. The soap smells fab and the wallpaper joints are absolutely perfect!! And the concept of free WiFi is so staggeringly rare in New Zealand that finding it is unexpectedly delightful.

Room Tip: Hotel is posher than than motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

we'd booked the motel but on checking in were upgraded to the hotel. We were here for just one night on the way up to Rotorua and this was convenient, comfortable and reasonably-priced. I'm not sure there's anything to see in Palmerston North

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coachman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.