We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of @Riverhills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added @Riverhills to your Saves list
@Riverhills
41 Dittmer Drive | Awapuni, Palmerston North 4412, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

In Palmerston North to watch grand daughters take part in a National Secondary Schools Volley Ball Tournament @Riverhills was a very comfortable place to rest between games. Marie and Ken were welcoming and unobtrusive we were able to come and go during the day as we pleased. This was much appreciated. The facilities were excellent and Ken and Marie helped us find our way around Palmerston and surrounds- Marie even took me to the Cloth Shop- very kind of her. I highly recommend @Riverhills.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent B&B. @Riverhills offers a great location with the river across the road.
Bedrooms well serviced, clean, comfortable, quiet with everything you could need provided.
Lounge Dining Room has fantastic views and is the perfect place to relax and unwind.
A well equipped gym and a movie theatre with a huge selection of movies are just added extras to a first class B&B.
Breakfast included has a great choice and very sufficient although you can order a cooked breakfast if you wish.
To top it all off Marie and Ken are the perfect hosts.
We would have no hesitation recommending this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was the best b&b I stayed in on my month of traveling. Marie and Ken treated us like family and we were able to enjoy parts of the house and not just stuck in our room. House is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and a great location. I was very sad to leave. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This very new venue is a lovely place to stay, in Palmerston North. We have never encountered a movie theatre in a B & B before and this was such a great addition to their facilities!
The venue is spotless, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. The Kiwi breakfast was just perfect for us and Marie and Ken made us so welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the smaller side but absolutely comfortable, clean and very functional. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very friendly warm welcome by the owners, who were really accommodating & helpful. Beautiful, well-presented & spotlessly clean home. Fantastic scenic views. Shame we were only there for 1 night! Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were so pleased with our choice of this B & B. It has a beautiful lounge room with a stunning view of the river, the hosts are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean, a fabulous breakfast is provided and it's in a handy situation. If you're going to Palmy, and need a great B & B, stay here; we were very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were given a great friendly welcome at the door when we arrived. Our hosts shared a lot of useful information with us. Lovely home overlooking the river and great hosts who provide a hearty breakfast did everything to ensure our stay was a good one.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the garden look great. There are two
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to @Riverhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @Riverhills

Address: 41 Dittmer Drive | Awapuni, Palmerston North 4412, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable Bed and Breakfast right on the riverbank offering outstanding accommodation in a private wing. Quiet, with off street parking, free WiFi and breakfast choices. Special rates for over 65's, corporate guests, Massey extramural students and bookings 30 days ahead. Discount for longer stays. Spectacular morning sunrise and views of the Southern skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your @Riverhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage @Riverhills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.