We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nero's

Nero's
36 Amesbury Street, Palmerston North, New Zealand
063540312
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have not been to this restaurant before and decided to try it as we had a discount voucher that was due to expire soon. We decided Nero's was well worth the visit and will add it on to our "special occasion dinner" list of restaurants in Palmerston North. We were greeted warmly on arrival and shown to our table by the maitre'd. Our waitress arrived promptly and we were offered water and asked about other drinks. They were attentive without being intrusive throughout our meal. The atmosphere is intimate with subdued lighting although we found the cow hide seat backs a bit of a surprise and almost at odds with the rest of the place! The garlic pizza bread is a good size starter for 2-4 people to share. The chicken dish was delicious served in a filo wrap on a pumpkin risotto. The broccollini side was tasty with almonds and a hollandaise sauce. The steak was average and not quite well cooked enough for the eater and the duck fat chips were left in preference for a much more palatable side of fries. No room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had an evening at Nero's recently and had such a good night, feel compelled to post a review. All six of us have since raved on what a great night it was. Highlighted by Superb cuisine. Along with friendly, attentive service, made for a great night out. Cheers Nero's

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing evening at Nero's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to Nero's a few times before, mainly for family occasions however, in January I went in for dinner with 2 close friends. We had a fantastic time! An amazing atmosphere paired with friendly and professional staff, beautiful mouth watering food and an exceptional wine list! As a group of passionate foodies we were very impressed with every aspect of the dining experience. We indulged in the prawn and cheese soufflé entree, and I had the Best Of Argentina. An Argentinian inspired beef dish comprising of a beautiful fillet of beef cooked to perfection (rare of course), a slow cooked short rib and house made chorizo with broccoli with hollandaise on the side. Absolute perfection. I highly recommend Nero's to everyone and intend on going back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here tonight and were not disappointed with our choice of restaurants. We were warmly welcomed and well attended to for the whole evening even though it was extremely busy! The food was outstanding and beautifully presented, great entrees, seafood sampler was delicious with a soft shell crab (which you eat the entire crab) and fresh yellow fin tuna, prawn and sweet corn fritter, my husband had the Bourbon Glazed beef short rib with black garlic followed by Duck confit leg and breast with caramelised peach and potato rosti. Beef Argentina with slow cooked rib, chorizo sausage and chumi cherry sauce was cook to perfection! We loved them, for dessert we chose the chocolate lovers plate it was amazing! Overall we had a fantastic night thank you Neros staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

3 courses - each cooked to perfection . Each course served very quickly even though it was a very busy night. Exquisite presentation - superb flavours. The duck was divine ( few restuarants get it right ) as was the lamb. Stunning desserts Helpful wine recommendation - perfect match . Service outstanding - efficient but unobtrusive.
An outstanding experience - thank you !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nero's also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Nero's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nero's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.