We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We decided to have a weekend away and go see some friends we hadn't seen in a long time. We chose to stay here as our friends pretty much lived next door. Shortly after we booked, we found out that there was going to be a concert on at the hotel so we rang the hotel to ask if this was going to affect our stay.

Unfortunately the operator knew nothing about the concert and told us our room would be quiet, we think this was a call center and probably not the actual hotel itself. Subsequently the concert was very loud and interrupted some much needed sleep.

The following morning we had a great breakfast at the Nosh restaurant which is part of the hotel however, it would have been better if the staff weren't having a conversation with each other across the dining hall, a bit unprofessional, they should take a leaf out of the chefs book who had nothing but outstanding customer service and prepared brilliant food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Hng98

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. On limited occasions we have an event on at night in our conference venue due to the size of the room but we always make sure they end at 12pm latest and we do sound checks beforehand to limit noise levels on our guests. In regards to your experience at breakfast I had a meeting with our team to make sure this will not happen to any guests in the future.
We would love to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to see the changes we made.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    103
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
65
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wrote my review of the hotel at the end of 2012, along with a letter to the management expressing my concerns over the cost of the wine. It took until now for them to respond!! I did not have any problems with the ratings I gave, other than the poor response from Management to clients concerns. When they did respond they did not deal with my complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear rmp236
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback in regards to response from management .Please accept my sincere apology and I would like to discuss this matter with you on your next visit to Palmerston North. In regards to the Wine price we are investigating other alternatives in regards to our selection of wines to reduce our overall costs.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here in August. We had a superior Queen room which was fairly small and dated, but clean and comfortable enough. The a/c unit was a bit noisy, but it was cool enough to turn this off at night so sleeping wasn't an issue. Staff overall were pleasant and helpful but Nosh Restaurant however is another experience. The place is so relaxed you either spend time looking for the waitress or helping yourself to your own menu and ordering directly with the chef. Room service also took a ridiculous length of time to arrive even for a very basic order.
Cuba Cafe on the next corner is worth a visit if you have a sweet tooth and is open for all day dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear White4551

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. In regards to our a/c units we are currently in the final stage to replace our current units that will be running less noisy and will be more sufficient.
I will be investigating your comments in regards to lack of service in Nosh. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and personally I do not accept anything less.
We would love to welcome you back and see the changes we have made in the near future

Kind regards
Rean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay, Good clean rooms, well designed. Staff were friendly and the location was great.

Room service is some of the best I've had, well priced but very yummy.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in the centre of town. Nice quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Nakib87

The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed our room service Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early August 2013. We had booked the night from their official website and were happy with the price including the service offered.

Travelodge offered good breakfast as well as free parking. Service was good. Room was clean except that it was a little small. The elevator at the lobby was really cool as it was the old school type.

Overall we are satisfied with the room and the service. The amount we paid for the night was cheap therefore we do not expect a 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Bring multiple electronic devices if you wish to use the Wifi for free. Each devices only can online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Johnie T
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great team. We enjoy what we do and feedback such as yours, certainly encourage us every day.
Thanks also for your comments about our lovely old lift. It certainly is a charming feature of the heritage side of the hotel and at 85 years of age it certainly is a treasure.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very happy with our accommodation but some customer service issues.
1. Told we needed to move car from secure parking following morning as needing to do some painting in area. Dutifully got up moved car (earlier than would have risen as 11am checkout) to find when we did leave that cars still parked in area and no painting in process.
2. When we checked out they had lost our credit card printout - we waited whilst they checked out other people until they had time to search for it - still not found.
Otherwise friendly at check-in even though had a large function (Massey Ball) in. Secial breakfast/ accommodation deal which was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear GE

Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the parking we contracted a company to do the work for us and they requested certain days for the parking to be available, on the day in question they could not do the work due to weather conditions. But I am happy to report that we have completed this work and our parking is fully operational. I also had a meeting with team in regards to your printout and we have new procedures in place to make sure this will not happen in the future again.
We would love to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to see the changes we made.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked 12 rooms and Jackie made it hassle free and good value. It was nice to deal with someone with exceptional knowledge of the hotel and treated me like I had booked the whole hotel. All staff we encountered were great. Rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Snapi

The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your warm comments regarding service especially in regards to Jackie. At Travelodge Palmerston north we do pride ourselves on our level of service and I will pass on your comments to the team and Jackie.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Well appointed guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.