We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed and centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well-appointed and centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a convenient, well-appointed and reasonably-priced hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly, the parking is handy and (importantly) free. The rooms are lovely and clean, with firm and obviously relatively new beds. The room is well laid out and spacious. The shower has great pressure and doesn't leak water all over the floor! The TV is modern and gets good reception (it is surprising how often this isn't the case), although an absence of movie and sports channels was noticed (couldn't watch the cricket that night, maybe a blessing given the national team's form of late!).
And of corise it is very close to town... I was ale to walk into the town centre in just a few minutes. Thee are also a number of nice cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear BulaHoneymooner

Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great team. We enjoy what we do and feedback such as yours, certainly encourage us every day.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Rean vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    104
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
66
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good value and location in Palmerston North. Very handly to George St and local cafes/shops. Walking distance to town centre. I would recommend booking in the new part of the hotel though as the second time I stayed here I booked in the Heritage side of things and the bed was not as new or firm as the new side of the hotel and the rooms look a little older.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear gibrattarwgtn

The team at Travelodge Palmerston North are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the lovely George Street cafes and shopping areas of the city. At Travelodge Palmerston north we do have two sides to the hotel. The older section mentioned in your email is our heritage side that gives character to the building and then we have the new modern side, providing the best of both worlds.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night on business. The room was tidy with good beds and adequate tv.
The reception staff were friendly and prompt.
I only had a continental breakfast in the restaurant bit it was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and taking the time to share your positive feed back, I will be sure to share this with the team. Our main business at Travelodge is Corporate guests travelling for one or two days, and we try to make our rooms a home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a relaxing couple of nights here while at a conference. Room was very comfortable and clean with feather duvet & pillows. Staff very friendly and helpful and room service prompt. The hotel is close to main attractions, cafes & shops that are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Kaye W

Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and the hotel suited your needs. It’s always good to get positive feedback from our guests. We do pride ourselves on our team friendliness, and I will pass you’re feedback on to our team

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Each year, for the past five, we have hosted a seminar at the Travelodge which has included our use of conference facilities, rooms for accommodation and the restaurant. For the first three occasions this property was managed by and branded Novotel, and in the past two years, Travelodge. On each occasion we have been extremely satisfied with both the facilities and the service. This is not luxury, but of a suitable standard for business travelers. The premises are clean and professionally presented; staff are courteous and helpful; restaurant food enjoyable.

We needed to stay alert - we had to ask to be relocated to another conference room after a musical show started up in an adjoining room making our room unusable. We were also not happy with the packeted cookies served for afternoon tea. However, these incidents did not dampen our overall rating of the Travelodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rean V, Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear DavidandSuzanne

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Palmerston North. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. I only recently taken over this property and I was a bit concern about the cookies. I have spoken to our conference team and we have identified the problem. We are looking forward to your next visit to show that we do pride ourselves in excellent service.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best sleep I had all week on a business trip. Not sure if it was the bed, the pillows and/or the quiet rooms but I had a great sleep. Staff at check in and check out were fast and efficient which helped when were catching an early morning flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review following your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay - we often get great feedback about our comfortable beds, we are pleased you were nicely rested before your early start.

We welcome you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Bay, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Room well laid out with comfortable bed. location is great such a short walk to the city.Nosh resturant was well worth a visit with a good menu.Book direct online and it is cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for providing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to Palmerston North.

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Well appointed guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.