We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aztec Motel

Aztec Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aztec Motel to your Saves list
Aztec Motel
109 Ruahine Street, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night at the Aztec with my wife recently whilst passing through and was actually pleasantly surprised. Phil, the manager was friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with in every respect. Upon first appearance the outside of the building did look a little dated but have to say that once inside everything had been updated to a good standard and we were extremely happy with the room, not only in terms of it's immaculate presentation but in particular with regard to the little things. you know the little things that you don't take with you on short trips, the little things that most motels / hotels don't provide, well top marks to the Aztec because "all" the little things were at hand should you need them.

Room Tip: Further away from the main road is preferable with regard to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here one night, while travelling.
The motel is basic but good value, across the road from the hospital and close to the city centre.
Our room had a comfortable King bed in the separate bedroom and 2 singles in the lounge.
There was a wall heater in the lounge and an electric heater in the bedroom, although the managers hadn't turned these on, so when we arrived, it was a bit like walking into a fridge.
There was a self contained kitchen and a small dining area.
It's not The Hilton, but for an overnighter or a base while visiting a sick relative it's just fine.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had booked unit earlier-No.4 for my family on 17/4. Scheduled for day only surgery at hospital.Drove over to Palmy from Carterton but had to undergo surgery at 10am. Arrived at motel at 9.15 am just to ask permission to park my vehicle. Owners were so kind that they allowed my wife and young son to check in. Stayed for a day.
Had to return to Palmy again by ambulance on 21/4 as infection had set in. My wife had contacted them prior to departure from Carterton. Could not provide fixed no. of days due to my medical circumstances. Arrived late - I was rushed in for admission at hospital. Wife and young son checked in at Aztec around 7pm. Owners were so kind and helpful that they took my wife and son to New World to get some foodstuff as it was getting late.They were checked into Unit 16. After 3 days, I was discharged and the owners came to the unit to enquire if I was improving. We were waiting for family friends from Wellington to take us back to Carterton.
In short, A very rare kind of service with a great personal touch. Highly impressed!!

Room Tip: In close proximity to the hospital. Very clean rooms,great service and not too close to the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

On first appearance from the street I was a bit apprehensive. However, my unit #5 was excellent. Two bedrooms and could sleep 7. My daughter in unit #19 was a smaller unit, but still nice. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warkworth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have just stayed another 4 nights at Aztec Motel for the second time. I firstly chose this Motel for its location near Hospital, and where I needed to go in Palmerston North and then because is was all ground floor units. I have vowed to never again stay in upstairs/downstairs motels again as get sick of the noise above me.
Have found Anne and Phil excellent hosts and willing to help with any problems or requests for information.
I have booked the kitchenette units and find them very clean and the beds comfortable. It is one of the few motels that I have not had to wash the utensils and dishes before I use them.
I am surprised at the little extras Anne and Phil provide such as paper towels in the kitchen and fresh air spray in the loo - neither of which I have ever had in any other motel in my travels - and even salt and pepper. Another nice touch is the biscuits left each day to enjoy with the tea or coffee sachets supplied.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Aztec and will certainly return there to stay on my next visit to Palmerston North.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This motel is well situated opposite the hospital and only a short drive to 'Palmy' CBD. Our room contained a very comfortable queen size bed and a single bed. It has a small kitchen with two burner cook top, microwave,frig and tea/coffee facilities. The shower and toilet are separate and spotlessly clean.
I had trouble accessing the internet via their wifi and the owners were most helpful in supplying a thumb drive aerial that fixed the problem. There is a fee for the internet.
The rooms were very comfortable and would be ideal for a one or two night stop over in Palmerston North. It is situated on a busy road but there was no road noise once inside the unit
I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 1 night at this real nice motel and could not fault the service or our room.The owner pointed out a fantastic restaurant which he as recommended to heaps of other travellers.
Our room was very well appointed, would not hesitate to stay there again.Real value for money.

Room Tip: Any of these rooms, theyre all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aztec Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aztec Motel

Address: 109 Ruahine Street, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aztec Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aztec Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.