We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in Palmerston North” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing in Palmerston North”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here due to a training course being held in the hotels conference centre. Disappointing hotel rooms their saving grace was that the bathrooms had been modernised but the rooms were drab and in need of a facelift. Carpet on stairs was worn. Breakfast was a reasonable buffet. NZD 12.00 for 2 hours of internet (continuous use) was expensive - can hotels really justify charging so much? Gym had a reasonable array of machines and weights - but again the décor was old and paint was peeling. In summary - "Could do better!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    42
    26
    19
See reviews for
20
60
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is the first time I have stayed at the Kingsgate. No some parts of the complex are not new, however the areas I used were clean and tidy! Nice big bed. The staff that I had dealings with were fine. Breakfast was verg good, so all in all value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night while travelling from Australia for work. The room was so dated and dreary that I couldn't wait for the morning so I could check out. The bed was on a slope and I have never seen pillows so lumpy in my life. My room was pretty much on the main so there was no chance to sleep in. I'm struggling to say anything good about this place other than it is across the road from a good Irish pub

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taranaki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Reception staff varied between excellent in the evening to average in the morning. Food in evening was average to a little more than average, excellent portion size but just a little lacking in flavour, which was a shame because it looked great. Good value. Breakfast was excellent. Standard rooms are very dated, tired and need redoing. stained carpets, mismatched curtains, not quite clean enough. Difficult to find the controls and power switch for heater once I found the heater. Power switches for clock and electric blanket entailed pulling out the bed, not helpful. My friend's unit had a broken window hinge so it was a little open and let in a lot of noise from the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have always stayed at Kingsgate Hotel, Palmerston North whenever we go to Wellington from Auckland. The service is excellent, the gym is very good with TV, the rooms are very clean and lovely to stay in. The food is excellent. This Hotel is value for money and is a great place to stay as it is very very close to the shops and parks.

Room Tip: Room 510 is on the higher floor and has a lovely view of Palmerston North city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I arrived early morning on both my stays at Kingsgate as I was driving and at the mercy of the Ferries. Both initial experiences were terrible. Rude staff at that time of night and when asked to help with my bags, my request was refused.
The bedding has a damp feel and smell, the heater doesn't heat and sounds like a Jet Plane taking off, the curtains don't meet so daylight wakes you in the morning (earlier in Summer).
The second arrival I encountered Mary Ford who was Night Manager and appeared decidely worse for wear mentally from being up so late and was rude and confrontational toward me. I cannot understand why someone with such an angry chip on her shoulder would be a representative of a so called 4 star establishment.
I gave the place two tries trying to give the benefit of the doubt the second time but again the Kingsgate failed.
Definitely only a 2 star when I stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were treated here. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded at no extra cost to an executive suite. The room was on the top flloor (6) and had no kitchen facilities but was a welcome treat after some of the motels we had been in. Traveling on a North Island tour, this was our fifth night and best so far. There is a spa situated on the second flloor but you may need to book.

Room Tip: Breakfast was great. We didn't dine here in the evening but the drink we had at the bar the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.