We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & inviting stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drovers Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drovers Motor Inn to your Saves list
Drovers Motor Inn
746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4414, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & inviting stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Super friendly hosts, lovely clean & tidy units! good location, added bonus of comfy lazy boy chairs (nice touch from the usual chair/couch) - partner greatly appreciated them.

Only feedback would be: slightly darker window dressing would keep light out.
Will most definitely stay again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hey guys! thanks for this review. Glad you loved the unit and tell your husband anytime he wants a comfortable chair we would love to have you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
11
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Simply Amazing is how I describe Drovers Motor Inn. It certainly was a fantastic find, just a short walk to the city and Sieda and Israel are a young couple who know the meaning of the word service. They are warm and welcoming, told us about the cute Olde English pub tucked away nearby, made forward bookings for us in Taupo and gave us FREE internet too. Our suite was tastefully decorated and had a Super-King sized bed, a 42”TV and Lazy-boy chairs. We stayed here a few years ago just after Sieda and Israel took over and are pleased to see they now have a family with another on the way. Our stay was Superb and we'd recommend Drovers Motor Inn to anyone heading to Palmerston North.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you! hopefully we see you again soon. =]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable bed. Nicely renovated modern and clean unit. Very noisy though and kitchen blinds didn't block out enough light. Beautiful bathroom with great shower. Very nice And good reception service. Very nice comfy chairs with footstools and large tv.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time is has taken you to write the review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Coolum, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay overnight at Drovers Motor Inn. The unit was lovely andw arm and as it was a very wet and cold weekend in Palmerston North . Our only complaint was that the on-site manager did not quieten down some noisy guests yelling out at 2am in the morning in the motel courtyard. Apparently they did not hear them. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the complex, not on the Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad the unit was to your liking and was comfortable.

Unfortunately we did not hear the guest you were speaking of, however we do provide in the rooms our direct contact number, had you given us a call it would have been sorted immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here. Such a friendly welcome! Nothing was a problem. Room was warm & homey!!! They have done a great job renovating and are happy for feedback. Totally recommend it! Ted the cat was a great home touch. We also like that they are eco friendly. The free 500mb of wifi was a great bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you have put into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Drovers Motor Inn and it just keeps getting better. The personalised service and attention to detail distinguish this gorgeous motel from everywhere else. In Unit 5 was a 50 inch TV and comfortable leather couch which worked a treat while watching the All Blacks win over France. I love the natural bathroom products and the organic tea, coffee and sugar. Well done to Israel & Sieda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here in April for work (one night). It is clean & comfortable. The managers are really friendly, but it seems to cater to men working (leave your muddy boots at the door) .

It's not in a great part of town. All the other motels are on Fitzherbert St. This is way across town on Main St. Nothing nearby but a fish& chips shop across the road and some car dealerships, etc.

My room was comfortable but, well, seemed like it was set up for a guy. Two lay-z-boy recliners parked in front of a huge TV, and a big bed. Kitchen is very basic. Fridge was loud (had to unplug), bathroom was clean but shower only (it was a good strong shower) - no bath, no bench space to put stuff, no hooks to hang up clothes while you have a shower.

Walls are paper thin. Could hear everything from room next door and above me (talking, some lively extra-curricular activities and then snoring). Unpleasant.

I was also concerned about security. The only lock on the room door is one of those ones where you twist and jiggle the lock (from the inside) to get it lock. But when you go to test it (from the inside) it pops the lock open - so you have to lock it and stand there with the door open to test it. No deadbolt or chain.

Also, there was a large window right next to the door with a small latch. I had to really slam it to get the latch to catch. If it wasn't locked someone could just slide the window, reach in and unlock the door. I must have checked the window and the door 5x before I went to sleep.

So, if you're a bloke and all you want is a good , hot shower, fish and chips from across the road and a relax in the lay-z-boy chair while you watch sport on the huge TV - you'll probably love this place.

For a female travelling alone - stay over on Fitzherbert Street. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiedaAndIsrael H, Owner at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the concerns and feel you had a few valid points in regards to the security of the units.

Although this is the first we have ever had a negative regarding security we have taken steps to replace all the door knobs and locks with a higher quality commercial version.

Also we are installing safety chains to the doors, as well as locks on the windows so they can be locked semi open or closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drovers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4414, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drovers Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.