We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Esplanade Gardens

Victoria Esplanade Gardens
Manawaroa St, Fitzherbert Ave & Park Rd, Palmerston North, New Zealand
356 8199
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“just lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

magnificent gardens on the edge of the city! There are also miles of riverside paths and forest walks; what an amazing asset for Palmerson Nth.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the rose gardens to the bush walks, miniature railway, cafe, mini zoo and pools, kids playground and ducks. This has something for everyone, and is always in tip top condition all year round. While the CBD may be the centre, the Esplanade is really the "heart" of Palmerston North.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good atmosphere and good weather for the beginning of winter and we were able to sit outside in the sun. Coffee and cake very good and of course the surroundings are great!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful for family with kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The park is huge, with trains running in weekend. The play ground is fantastic, with varieties for fun. However, it will be good if more benchs are provided. There is also a mini bird park in the garden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This used to be a favourite place for me to go either on my own, with my husband or I would take my granddaughter after school for hot chocolate and a cake. When my husband and I were there for lunch one day it seem to take forever to get my lunch. There was nobody at the counter and I waited more than 20minutes. When I spoke to the owner about this he was very apologetic about it and gave me a complimentary $10 voucher and a free coffee for my next visit. Very nice I thought. I went back and used my voucher and was happy with the way thins went. On our next visit which wasn't that long after that we waited again for nearly half an hour and when the food came it wasn't hot. I pointed this out to the owner and he literally blew up and accused me of purposely complaining. Needless to say we haven't gone back an have told many friends why. Such a shame really because it was a favourite of ours and no longer is. We haven't been back and if we go to the park where the cafe is we take our own food.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Esplanade Gardens also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Victoria Esplanade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Esplanade Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Victoria Esplanade Gardens to your Saves list