We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, food, service incl. kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethanys

Bethanys
32A The Square, Palmerston North, New Zealand
3516322
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Great spot, food, service incl. kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming, relaxed cafe style restaurant. Good service and wine selection. Menu had lots that sounded tempting incl. eye fillet, ostrich, pork belly and seafood pasta. All with classy sides and sauces. Great kids menu that includes drink and desert. Chicken nibbles - fillet with herb batter was a hit! Three kids meals, bottle of great Sauv Blanc and two mains <$140 was great value. Generous portions, some tendency to over complicate mains with too many great flavours!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I went with a group of workmates for an end of year dinner. I think just about everyone enjoyed their food, including me. The only negative is that there is no ventilation upstairs and it gets stiflingly hot, even with the blinds down (which then block the view). They need opening windows or ceiling fans or something.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food - Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There was a good variety of options and the chefs were willing to adjust to my personal tastes and 'diet' requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Superb view and a pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We haven't been to this restaurant in awhile so we took the opportunity over the holidays to re-acquaint ourselves.We requested, on making a phone booking, a table with the lovely view over the Square on a beautiful summer's evening dinner for two. The garlic bread came out quickly and while the main meal took a bit longer it was a pleasant opportunity to chat and admire the glories of nature outside the window. The sirloin steak was cooked to my liking however the stir fry veges while tasty were a bit limited in quantity. My partner enjoyed the chicken dish and neither of us had room for dessert. The house wine by the bottle is reasonable in taste and cost. The service is attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forgotten customer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On one occasion I was kept waiting to be served while the staff fluffed around behind the counter ignoring me. Having finally ordered a croissant without beetroot, it appeared, late, with beetroot. When this was pointed out, the offending sandwich was removed, only to be returned without beetroot, but with beetroot juice still clinging to the tomato in the sandwich. Very poor service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethanys also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Bethanys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethanys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.