We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Corporate Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added City Corporate Motor Inn to your Saves list
City Corporate Motor Inn
209 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This Place was perfect for our weekend stay. The weather wasn't great outside but our room was warm and cosy with lovely comfortable beds and plush extra blankets were provided if needed too. Everything immaculately clean.
It was very close to town and my son was happy to spot a Gym chain he is a member of and this was within walking distance.
Small minibar available in the room for purchase and it was a bonus to find a complimentary toothbrush provided amongst the usual bathroom goodies -as I had forgotten mine! Even shoe Polish was provided that I guess could be very handy for some!
An extra special touch though was a piece each of beautiful home baked chocolate slice for us on arrival....yum!....can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney NSW Australia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The bed was extremely comfortable, the host was friendly, efficient and helpful and our corporate deluxe I bedroom unit with a queen bed was well equipped with everything we needed.

The unit was modern, clean, very nicely decorated, warm, quiet and comfortable. It catered to our needs in every way and made for an extremely pleasant stay.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for accommodation in Palmerston North.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This 'Motel' is more like a boutique Hotel. The attention to detail is impressive. As a business traveller I appreciate the small things such as plenty of power sockets for laptops, phone charging, etc. The complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste is a godsend as invariably occasionally I forget this. Even the plastic cup with nozzle to fill the iron with, yes I know it's a small thing but I get frustrated with accommodation providers for not providing this basic need. Even the easy to use safe with a credit card swipe (free to use) is unique. Free wi-fi is still not easily found in many places in NZ but this place provides it. The rooms are modern, contemporary and very clean. The double glazed windows is a godsend on cold nights. The staff are super friendly and extremely accommodating, even a free beer was provided. Will definitely be back many times.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a superior quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked a double room and couldn't have been happier. The room had a great bathroom, good selection of programs on the LCD TV and was spotless. The breakfast was fantastic too and the host was incredibly friendly, and knowledgable. He recommended a fantastic Indian restaurant. He also offered to personally watch our car as it had bikes on the back. Will definitely stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I booked three double rooms for our family overnight to attend a graduation ceremony. Everyone was blown away by the attention to detail, the lovely rooms, the comfortable beds. Shame we didn't have time to use to amazing looking baths! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 802,803,804 were quiet and comfortable for our family group
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This motel certainly has the Wow factor! The host is genuinely attentive, helpful, polite with good old-fashioned manners - hard to come by these days! The rooms are great, even had a spa bath which I didn't have time to use, and then you notice how everything works to perfection. The decor is simple, but elegant, and the details are beautifully finished. If I was to build a home, I'd be back to ask who the builders and finishers were! Wonderfully clean, fabulous bed with good quality linen. I enjoyed a real home-made fresh fruit salad for breakfast. A quick but memorable stop in my old home-town. Brilliant value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a perfect place to stay! This motel is simply wonderful - located on a main road into Palmerston it is easy to locate and has its own car park. I was welcomed on arrival and made to feel like I was staying in someone's home, rather than just a motel. The room was amazingly comfortable - I stayed in the 'basic' room, but there was nothing basic about it. The bed was super comfortable, there was a good size desk for working, a nice kitchenette (fridge, microwave, sink), a nice bathroom (with shower) and a fabulous two-person spa, which is possibly the best spa bath I have ever tried. There was ample lighting in the room and temperature was easy to control.

The motel is a short walk/drive to nearby supermarkets and the centre of town - there is not a great deal to do in Palmerston, but I doubt you would be here on holiday, so it is perfectly adequate for business or trips to Massey.

I loved getting a new cookie/cake each day and it was nice to chat to the hosts whenever they were about - they really did make the place feel like home. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Corporate Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Corporate Motor Inn

Address: 209 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City Corporate Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Corporate Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.