We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great story” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Zealand Rugby Museum

New Zealand Rugby Museum
326 Main St, Palmerston North 4440, New Zealand
0064-6-3586947
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The sport that shaped a nation.How did rugby come to play such an important role in the culture and heritage of New Zealand, and why are the All Blacks so good?Explore the rich history and folklore of the nation’s game, see some of the world’s rarest rugby artefacts, and learn about some of our rugby greats. You can get active by testing your rugby skills in the dedicated “Have A Go” area and measure yourself against the best.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I took friends from England who had come for the Worl Cup. We all enjoyed the museum.As a historian I enjoyed seeing exhibits from stories I knew and learning about new events. Everything is laid out clearly andlogically. I felt the 1970s and 1980s were a little "thin" but, otherwise, this was well worth the visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must for rugby fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I enjoyed the Rugby Museum immensely. Not only does it document the development of the game in New Zealand, but it also charts our social history. Fascinating stuff.
The section in the middle for the kids to "have a go" at the game is great.
I wish I'd had more time to spend reading about all the history of the wonderful exhibits. Sadly we were rushed because one member of our party was NOT interested in rugby, and wanted to leave. I will have to make the time to go back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I had been to the old museum and was impressed but now they have shifted and have more display space it is amazing how many wonderful items they have. If you are at all interested in Rugby this is a must see! This is the New Zealand Rugby Museum not just a local effort with items dating from the beginning of world rugby to the current day.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Rugby Fans Mecca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

For a country where Rugby is a religion you would expect a Museum to it to be in one of the main centres not a mid size town like Palmerston North in the middle of the North Island. Of course the locals argue that Palmerston North is the birth place of Rugby in New Zealand & if anyone has the proof to back it up they do.

The Rugby Museum has pieces of Rugby history going back to the very beginning & its not just items from New Zealand but from most Rugby playing nations.

They have everything from pins to ties to team caps & uniforms along with some the crazy gear that the crowds wear.

While it was amazing to visit the Rugby museum now I will have to come back in 2011 as they are moving to a larger building closer to town in April & will be able to display more of their collection to the public.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Zealand Rugby Museum also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to New Zealand Rugby Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Zealand Rugby Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Zealand Rugby Museum to your Saves list