We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cornwall Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Cornwall Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

On arrival I was greeted very friendly by the host, the man in reception was very friendly, and happily showed me to my room. The room was spotless, was a very good size and clean and tidy. Cleaning was immaculate. The bed was nice and comfortable, and it was nice to relax in the spa bath and watch TV at the end of the day. Free Wireless Internet was good as well. It is close to town, opposite the Plaza Shopping mall. There was a little bit of traffic noise which might bother a light sleeper. This is a great place to stay, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther65_13, Owner at Cornwall Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Occasionally there is some traffic noise, as we are so centrally located. We are happy to place you in a room away from the road, if we know you are a light sleeper. We loved that you enjoyed your spa, and we able to relax and watch TV at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Alot of my family stayed here just in the last few days for my dear mum's passing. I found the lady in reception very nice and welcoming. Showed us to our room and nothing was a problem. Very clean and tidy and even with the walk in wardrobe when I saw my partner on the other side I got a hell of a fright because I thought I was looking in a Mirror , crack up lol. Anyway this place was very comfortable and would definitely stay again. I really recommend this awesome place. Thanks heaps for a very comfortable stay under our sad circumstances.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome on arrival from the hosts. One of them showed me the room and wasn't happy with an aspect of the cleaning I didn't even notice. He immediately scurried away and sorted it. That's what I call high standards and excellent service. The room was fantastic with a big spa bath, bubble bath and extra towels. Lying in the pool watching the news was great!! The bed was great and also the desk to do some work. I can see why this place gets great ratings!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on the 20th of June on the way from Christchurch to Tirau, we rung on way from Wellington looking for a quiet room and they were so helpful in booking us in a room that was quiet and so comfortable. Thank you so much.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in Cornwall Park Motor Lodge early June when we attended the National Poultry Show, we loved this place, the spa bath was such a bonus and huge, the rooms were clean, warm, the bed was like a cloud. We had a cooked breakfast which was just wonderful, perfectly cooked plenty of it. I really cant speak more highly of the service and the room. Very central

Room Tip: one of the upstairs suites perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Good business package (incl breakfast), excellent rates, good customer service. Spa pool in room (not bathroom), where you can watch tv. Complementary wine, biscuits and chocolate on arrival. Good size real milk for the room. Loads of towells. Handy to CBD. Quiet enough. Clean. Would easily recommend this place for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs spa suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

we have stayed here 3 times now and every time the place is the same clean and tidy the staff are very friendly I love the spa bath rooms and always try to get one they are great after a long day shopping :-) the location is the best for dinning - mall - supermarket- gas station - Highly recommend the Cornwall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornwall Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Motor Lodge

Address: 101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornwall Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the heart of Palmerston North. Situated just opposite the Plaza Shopping Mall, Restaurant and Cafes. Super King Beds, Self-Fill Spa Pools in rooms, Large and Spacious rooms.One Bedroom Family Suites with Super King Bed in the Lounge and seperate bedroom with two single beds, Spa Baths in bathroom or Shower Only. All suites have cooking facilities. Ample Free Parking available. Park your car and shop til you drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornwall Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.