We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cornwall Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Cornwall Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed 30 June for one night. Wonderful spacious room . The in room spa is the best. Very clean quiet comfortable place. We have stayed here twice and will stay again.We had a room on the main road and heard no noise from traffic. The place is across the road from the mall and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Have just a had a great weekend in Palmerston North and staying at the Cornwall Motor Lodge made it all the more pleasant. Great service, very convenient and easy to find. Had an upstairs unit that had all the facilities we required, with plenty of space. Quiet, as it was set back from the road. Plenty of parking. Great heating. Very comfortable beds and very good bathrooms. Near shops, restaurants and not far to University. Thank you Esther and Tom for your personal service and hints on where to dine. Take their advice and book ahead for restaurants in the weekend - Palmerston gets busy!

Room Tip: Ask for room back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived on our motorbike and was one of the few motels available......fabulous hosts who had been there for just one month.
We have stayed here before some 12 months previous and customer service is always a great point of difference and Tom and Esther do have this ! Can change the whole experience !

Our room was ground floor, great with a bike. spacious, lots of light. Comfy bed for us.

The location is excellent here with the pub across the road with traditional comfort food and then choice of Thai and Korean same all of a 2 min walk.

Recommended by the host to go Korean, absolutely superb !

We will definitely be back .

Great value and Customer Service !

Thanks Tom and Esther

Room Tip: Being a biker we like ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Cornwall motor lodge has a great location and the hosts are lovely, we booked in to stay in a very busy weekend due to the stock car teams champs, we paid for a 2 bedroom room, but what they call 2 bedrooms is the master bedroom being in the lounge, other than that everything was as expected, friendly staff, nice and clean, the other thing was even though on corner of 2 busy roads very good sound proofing

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms, have a really nice spa, downstairs it is more of just a bath with jets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Arrived in Palmerston North without a reservation as we had tried to stay in a nearby town, but that was fully booked. So were keen to find accommodation and many of the motels on our way though PN were also booked. This motel was the first that had a vacancy sign showing. we took what turned out to be the last room available. we were not disappointed. We had a large room with lounge, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. As we arrived late the Burger King across the road came in very handy, and we found a Countdown supermarket just 10 minutes walk away and open to 11pm (I think) which allowed us to stock up on breakfast and food for the next day's travel. Off street parking available. We travelled south and the motel location provides for a direct exit from the city. Would certainly stay here again if ever I make it back to Palmerston North.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely spacious unit well set out with a fantastic in room spa. One of the cleaniest motels that I have been in. Our package included breakfast which was lovely as well as the small basket of goodies on arrival. We thought the room would be noisy due to location however how wrong we were.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have stayed here several times and the location is A1 right opposite the plaza. The rooms are super specious with lovely a hottub. But it is getting a bit tired and in need of a refurb hence staying somewhere else this year. The male staff member needs to work on his people skills also - no warmth whatsoever!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmygirl, Owner at Cornwall Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regard to the standard of our rooms. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and are excited to be offering triple sheeting in all our Studio Suites with Spa Pools this will be a great improvement and certainly help to modernise our suites and give a lovely clean crisp feel.
We hope that you will come back and stay with us again to check the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornwall Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Motor Lodge

Address: 101 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 5301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornwall Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the heart of Palmerston North. Situated just opposite the Plaza Shopping Mall, Restaurant and Cafes. Super King Beds, Self-Fill Spa Pools in rooms, Large and Spacious rooms.One Bedroom Family Suites with Super King Bed in the Lounge and seperate bedroom with two single beds, Spa Baths in bathroom or Shower Only. All suites have cooking facilities. Ample Free Parking available. Park your car and shop til you drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornwall Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.