We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harringtons Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harringtons Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Harringtons Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   301 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value For Money??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having stayed three nights did I find it value for money ???
Having landed three hours late and facing the worst storm Wellington had seen for many years
and driving up to palmerston north in the early hours of the morning.
On arriving found the heater and electric blanket on and the evening paper was great.
Rooms were clean and comfortable but the upholstery lounge and chairs could do with a clean.
Towels seemed a little thin and on the small side,did try the spa bath but did not seem to be working.
Could do with more plates and utensils in the kitchen.
Seemed some what overpriced compared to other accommodation in New Zealand

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Sadly your family's 3am arrival did not allow for us to show you to your apartment and explain how things operated. It is a shame you didn't come and ask if you had a challenge with the spa. We have a full set of crockery and cutlery (six of everything) in the apartment catered for four persons and we have received earlier reviews on trip advisor appreciating this.
We have recently had the linen supply rep view our towels (he was trying to sell us some new ones on Special) but agreed that ours are in excellent condition. They are of standard size sold to many accommodation providers. Often we get comments about the quality of our towels and how good they actually 'dry' you. Sorry they were not to your personal liking.
We feel it is unfair to compare pricing of accommodation to different regions around New Zealand as we all have different overheads. One example is Local Council Rates. These are a huge contributor to overhead costs and vary considerably region to region.
We are pleased that you appreciated that the apartment and beds were warm and made for a pleasant arrival after your harrowing journey. Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
16
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The service was great, the breakfast was HUGE!!!! We stayed there while our son attended a camp at Massey university which was a fab location.

The couple running the hotel (Bronny and Keith) were great, friendly and helpful, which made our stay worth while.

We stayed in a room that accommodated all 5 of us.

Room Tip: Make sure you order the breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts - Keith does an excellent job and enjoys putting his 'chef's' hat on in the mornings. Safe travels out there...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week while my daughter was playing hockey, so very handy to the turf. Had a one bedroom unit - lovely and clean and no complaints at all. The hosts, Keith and Bronwyn were great and nothing was a problem for them. So thank you both for a lovely stay and for really going out of your way - we look forward to staying with you again when next in Palmerston North!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Pleased the One Bedroom 'home' worked well for you for the week. Was a pleasure having you stay with us. Trust you are on top of the 'paper war' catch up now...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here two nights. The motel is on the University end of Fitzherbert Avenue, rather than the town end, which suited me. The room was spotless and modern. The cooked breakfast I had was generous and delicious. The couple running the motel made a huge, positive difference to my stay with their careful and kind service - simple things like greeting me by name when they brought me breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Feedback is always appreciated as this helps others to make informed decisions. Pleased you enjoyed the Brekkie. Keith does a great job with his 'Chef" hat on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed a night but was able to sample the friendly welcome from the hosts who wanted to help me.

i arrived by bus in the centre of town and the motel is quite a walk from there so be prepared for that.

If I ever go back to Palmerston North, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your recommendation. Re the15 - 20 minute walk with luggage in tow - It's a shame you didn't grab another bus as they stop right outside our motel complex. Safe travels... Keith and Brony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed one night when on business and booked based on the Trip Advisor rating. Very friendly and helpful owners. It was a little way out of the main centre. The room was spacious, immaculate and had everything I needed so can't be faulted. Very reasonable price too. The only thing was the decor was a little old fashioned, which certainly didn't affect how comfortable it was, but I guess I would have liked something a bit more modern. When you are travelling by yourself this is quite important to me. Also a niggly thing was the coffee cups were the heavy "ex railway" style.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Jo appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Pleased you found the room everything you needed. Decor - we did 1/2 of the units last year and are waiting (due in 6 weeks I have been told) for new bedspreads, drapes and comforters for the remaining Executive units.
Laughed at your 'ex railway' style coffee cup comment - personally I do not like them either but we get so many comments that it's good to get a decent size coffee cup...... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very clean, very well organised and pleasant motel not too far from the centre of Palmerston North. It was quiet and the couple who run it are extremely helpful and good to deal with. I would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your recommendation, we enjoyed your visit with us, safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harringtons Motor Lodge

Address: 301 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harringtons Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less that 2km to Massey University, Caccia Birch House, Chalet on the Lake, Wharerata conference facilites, Wedding Venues Palmerston North and CBD The Square. Opposite Esplande gardens and walkways. All suites are Non Smoking and all Ground Floor. We offer the highest level of friendly personal service, and an atmosphere that allows for your complete privacy for the Corporate or Independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harringtons Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.