We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilgara Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gilgara Retreat to your Saves list
Gilgara Retreat
3 Old Ellen Brook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quiet retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. Elaine and Steve were wonderful hosts and provided a great deal of information about the surrounding area. We stayed in the self contained units, not the B&B and made the most of the selection of DVD's on offer in the evenings. We found the units very comfortable and peaceful, and we enjoyed the large shower and spa bath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Reynaldo774. Thank you for your review. Really pleased that P and you enjoyed the peace & tranquility Gilgara has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Steven and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Gilgara Retreat for 3 nights while we explored the beautiful Margaret River region. Gilgara has a timeless elegance in the main house offering B&B while there are very modern units which allow self catering as well. We wanted to eat at the amazing restaurants that are around there so chose B&B. Steven and Elaine were wonderful hosts who know the area well and shared their interesting local knowledge. Gilgara is in a beautiful, peaceful setting and you wake to the sounds of the Australian countryside around you. Rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts with home made bread and locally grown produce. We would recommend Gilgara to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Raeleen! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and your kind words, about your Gilgara Experience on TripAdvisor. Our warm regards to E too. Best wishes from Steven and Elaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed here overnight when attending a concert in Margaret River. We came across it as it is one of a very few places that offer overnight stays. I was looking for somewhere quiet away from the big hotels and am so glad I found Gilgara!
I was impressed at booking in to receive an email from Elaine recommending restaurants and giving other helpful info.
We were greeted very warmly by Elaine on check in and shown to our Garden Suite. These suites are just lovely, very comfortable and Ioved the sunken spa bath. They are so quiet! It is so nice to wake up to no other sound than birds singing!
Will definitely stay here again again and recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Wishful_9 Thank you for writing in with your comments on Gilgara. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again next time you are in Margaret River. Warm Regards, Elaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We could run without going on roads all the way to the sea from here and encountered Kangaroos as we went. The rooms were clean, and great to be self catering as occasionally we wanted to cook. We were here for 5 nights- Steve and Elaine was super friendly. They lent us books to walk and run around. I had countless baths- bathroom was brilliant so big with huge bath and huge separate shower. Great place close enough to the action of MR and to the action on the beach. Stay here. Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Bon023! Sorry I didn't respond sooner.
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Gilgara Experience. Steven & I are pleased P & you had an enjoyable time in the in the Margaret River Region. Hope to see you again when you next visit the region. Fond Regards, Elaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Steve and Elaine were excellent and friendly hosts when we stayed at Gilgara whilst attending a wedding in the Margaret River area before Easter.
The retreat has a fabulous setting and the rooms were well appointed. The breakfast was lovely with home made breads and locally sourced produce.

A stay here will not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilgara, Manager at Gilgara Retreat, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Alan, for your feedback! Will pass on your comments to our house-keeping team. Steven and I were very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay @ Gilgara, the Margaret River Region & not forgetting the wedding @ Leeuwin Estate too! Hope to see you all again when you next visit the region. Regards, Steven & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during mid Feb in the Garden Suite as a romantic getaway. The Garden Suite was superb, very spacious for two with simple cooking facilities. The jacuzzi spa was the most memorable. Will definitely visit again and recommend to all!!!!

We made a last minute booking and being an unknown to the Margaret River (MR) area, the hosts was very attentive to all needs, their patience and clear explanation of the "where to go" are very very helpful.

The retreat resides within 10 minutes drive to the MR town center. Convenient and easy to find. You definitely need to be trustworthy, honest and love the country lifestyle to enjoy this quiet and peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house on a bed and breakfast basis. We received a warm welcome and our hosts had excellent local knowledge. Even though we have visited the area before, they made several suggestions for places to visit, eat etc which were all great. The room was simple and clean with a good sized en suite. We also looked at the suites which were clean, spacious and stylish. We enjoyed relaxing in the gorgeous lounge with views onto the grounds which are again beautiful. Breakfast was made from local produce and set us up for the day! The setting is great, just a few minutes drive to MR and great access for all the local wineries, walks and attractions. We also enjoyed the peacefulness of the retreat as it is more adult focused than so many places that cater more for families with young children. Great for couples. Will definitely plan a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilgara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilgara Retreat

Address: 3 Old Ellen Brook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gilgara Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilgara Retreat Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilgara Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.