We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and characterful B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Guesthouse
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Warmer Special
Ranked #4 of 19 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and characterful B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jane and Keith provide warm hospitality, friendly service and great breakfasts. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked out onto a lovely garden. The location is absolutely perfect for Margaret River High Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Joanne
We are delighted that you enjoyed the character and friendliness which we believe makes for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are very proud of our garden, so thanks for your very positive feedback!
Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
126
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Rosewood for quiet weekend away and couldn't have asked for anything better! The room was just amazing and so comfortable, very clean and beautiful toiletries. We were just a 20 minute walk from the centre of Margaret River to enjoy the restaurants and entertainment there or just relax in the quiet sitting room of the Guest house.

I have to say my favourite part of the stay was the fabulous breakfast and the personal top class service we received.

I don't often write reviews but had to on this occasion as a thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. I would highly recommend Rosewood and will definitely be returning for another stay soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Christine
Your review is very welcome and we are so pleased that you remember us fondly. We do try to ensure every guest has a great experience in the region and at Rosewood. It really is terrific to have a comfortable guest lounge and deck for that quiet relaxing time and in the gorgeous weather we have been having quite a few guests have been enjoying a BBQ or cheese plates with a good bottle of local wine.
Hope to see you again!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly with an in depth guide of what to do in the region all marked out on a map for us! They pointed out which beaches to avoid swimming in because of rough currents etc, when the local markets were on etc. All very valuable information. The hosts were very accommodating for our 2 nights in this wonderfully located and clean guesthouse. We loved the addition of a special for breakfast each morning and of course the lovely deck to enjoy any purchases you made in the region that day! Beautiful gardens, easy to find and very comfortable - if you chose to stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Bek
It is a great pleasure to know that our guests appreciate the local knowledge that we are happy to share! We think the deck is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of crisp Semillon/Sauvignon Blanc which is after all summer in a glass!
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Jane and Keith were the perfect hosts. We booked 2 nights at Rosewood as we wanted to show my sister and her husband, who were visiting from the UK, Margaret River. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved that there was an addition of a special each morning.

For our tour of the winery's we chose Keith to take us around in his 1956 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud, we had so much fun! Our tour ended at Voyager were we enjoyed a leisurely lunch and a stroll around the rose gardens. After a very enjoyable day Keith picked us up and returned us to Rosewood were we finished the day on the front deck and watched the sun go down with a bottle of wine and cheese, magical! Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Karen

Breakfast is a great start to any day and we try to vary our specials each morning to tempt our guests and add variety for those on a lengthier stay.

We think that the Rose Tour is about the most relaxing way to spend a very enjoyable day wine tasting with the bonus of making your lunch as long and as extravagant as you want! The record so far this year was a 5.15 pick up...

It was a pleasure to have your family come and stay at Rosewood and we hope to see you again although it may be a while before your sister returns to Australia!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A very good B and B , hosts were charming and informative , accommodation had all the comforts of home including really good quality beds.Gardens was beautiful ,it was nice to sit out on the verandah , but do use the bug spray provided, as the mosquitos are about in the evenings. Rosewood is very close to the main street , which means you can walk into town for tea and sample some of the regions wonderful wines without having to drive or hassle with parking .Good base for a few days to get to know where everything is and you will get the local update on things like which beaches are safe to swim at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ann
It is really great that you took the time to let others know about our super comfy beds and wonderful breakfasts, thank you.

As you can imagine the deck has been really well utilised over the summer and we do provide the insect repellent as a precaution., so glad you used it!

We also make sure our guests know the best spots for swimming as some of our local beaches are truly wonderful but a couple can be too much for a novice.

We hope you return to Rosewood.

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had booked to have a holiday in Margeret River, we then got a surprise visit from our son, who came to see us from Scotland, Jane and Keith arranged another room for us at short notice to accommodate. We had a wonderfull time, we were made feel so welcome, we will certainly be back again. Our son enjoyed himself so much he hopes to be back in a couple of years with his wife and children, to enjoy their hospitality again.
Thank you so much much for making our holiday special

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We had a lot of fun helping your husband arrange the surprise visit from your son which was so special! It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we are so glad that you fitted in some sightseeing in amongst your golf games. Let's hope you can enjoy many more visits to this fantastic region voted No 1 town in Australia by the readers of Gourmet Traveller... clearly a discerning lot!

Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamar Valley Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived at Rosewood Guesthouse to find it was all that we had hoped for on our short sojourn to this part of the world. The house itself was warm and welcoming and the added hospitality of our hosts made for a most friendly and relaxing stay. The room we had was more than comfortable with a lovely garden outlook and the welcoming platter and wine just right. Breakfast presented variety and good fare with friendly conversation at experience adding shared tables. Advice on where to go for wine-tasting/tours and restaurants was most helpful and proved dependable. And as usual when you find a place that feels right and delivers generously, we wished we could have stayed much longer, but we will be back. Thank you folks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstiepurdie, Owner at Rosewood Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hi Carl
You are very kind to take the time to review your stay. It is great to know that we fulfilled your holiday needs and we are so glad you enjoyed you stay. We always try to make our recommendations suit your interests. There is so much to do we hope you can visit again to continue the fun!
Regards
Jane & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Guesthouse

Address: 54 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosewood Guesthouse 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Guesthouse is friendly, well located and award winning hosted accommodation just 10 mins walk to town. With 6 beautifully detailed guest rooms all en-suite and air-conditioned, Rosewood provides a convivial atmosphere, free WIFI with an included great breakfast featuring local produce, good coffee and interesting conversation will ensure that your stay is memorable. With restaurants and shops within walking distance, and wineries, beaches and forests within 10 minutes allow at least 3 nights for the sights! Rolls Royce Tours available. Suits guests over the age of 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rosewood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.