We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay very much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adamson's Riverside Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Adamson's Riverside Accommodation to your Saves list
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
71 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay very much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bruce & the staff were lovely. Very friendly & helpful. Our room looked onto the well kept garden, was clean, comfy,had tea/coffee & FRESH milk not longlife tiny sachets so basically had all I needed for a few days.We didnt have any problems with parking.
Bruce told us he was one of the fairly new owners & had plans to revamp the rooms so I would have no hesitation in staying there again on our next Australian holiday.
Breakfast would be a nice option but then I would of missed out on the unique quirkiness of the bakery a few doors down.
The only reason I gave Location "Average" was because of the busy road being so close. Margaret river itself has lots of beautiful & interesting places to see just a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The review below says it all, but a little harsh, it was ok, just! No food whatsoever, not even breakfast, went next door where we were supposed to get breakfast and it was closed, sorry Bruce, we paid a lot of money staying there, and it was just not good enough. Nice location on the edge of town, only a few
mins walk to the centre. Tip, eat at Must restaurant in the town, fantastic steaks and Oysters, it is a MUST. Not a lot in the town itself, but good walks and tours of the wineries around.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to the town centre. We checked into the hotel last minute about 8pm, and was relieved to find they had a room avaible for the night. Bruce was friendly and helpful, and made good recommendation about what to do and where to go within the town area. Price is reasonable and environment is quiet to my liking. The room is nicely renovated and well maintained. The stay really made my holiday pleasant with Nice people and nice accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

During a recent trip to Margaret River I thought I would try out this accomodation as I had heard good things about it and the room pictures looked good on the website. What I didn't know was that a) the website pics are old and misleading to the current condition and overall 'feel' and b) the motel has recently been sold and this management are amateurish at best.

When we arrived our key was left out despite arriving during reception hours. We tried the door anyway because we needed pamphlets. The smell of smoke was overwhelming when we entered (it is advertised as a non smoking property! The manager (?) Bruce lives in the unit out the back of reception). We were advised we were in a newly renovated room (which was not the one we had booked but we thought we would have a look anyway). So we started to offload our luggage out of the car (NB Avoid the 'ramp' as the angle it is on surely must be illegally steep) and traipsed around for a while trying to find our room. We eventually found Room 12 written in texta on a wall and went in. I was not happy straight away as we had to walk past, and were next to, the managers residence and balcony and the smell of smoke was overwhelming even outdoors walking next to it.
The room we found to be very poorly renovated. I suspect it is 2 old offices and a storage room which they have converted. It is hard to describe the rooms, it was like a bit or a rabbit warren, the rooms didin't align and so even though the air con was in the living room pointing towards the bedroom, no air got through to the bed so it was very stuffy. When the air con is on too you need to be careful of the overflow which dumps onto the steps (also illegal?) and makes it slippery.
In summary here is a list of things we found which were not satisfactory;
- multiple lip marks on the wine glasses
- noisy overhead fan in bedroom
- bed is squeezed into a small space and not much room around it
- there is a ledge which runs the length of the bottom of the mirror. Unfortunately the ledge makes access to the toilet difficult as you would not be able to sit straight without banging your head or shoulder
- the internet didn't work
- poor and possibly dangerous access
- loud road noise
- large air con unit (for reception) boxed in on room 12s balcony which was loud and very hot
- poor quality pillows
- no soap provided
- poor ventilation
- building rubbish left around the side of the accomodation (which is the view from the room we were put in).

We rang around some other places to see if we could get different accomodation and found some but be wary.. we discovered later that the new owners also own the two nearby (over the road) guesthouses (of which there are some poor reviews too) and Nathalies restaurant.
Eventually we got hold of Bruce who despite living on premises and we knew he was in the room ignored the bell and didn't answer his mobile so we called the landline twice while we waited outside. He agreed quickly to a refund (thankfully) but did at first try and tell me that it was ok to smoke on premises (even outside this reception door is a non smoking sign and on their web site it says non smoking property!).

We packed up our stuff and took off. Never will we go back there or to the other 2 properties we know they own. BTW - we were not the only ones to leave. 3 adults who arrived at the same time also left at the same time very unhappy and we were also told by the wonderful hosts were we did end up staying that they had had enquiries from another couple the next day and also had 2 from one of the other accomodation places owned by this group leave and look for alternatives.

It may of been nice once, but is not now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The design and layout of the rooms are fine. In fact the courtyard is real plus. Unfortunately the room we had had not been cleaned well enough. In fact the ac unit held so much dust, I disconnected the cover and showed the manager. The unit must have operating very inefficiently. The unit was then cleaned.
As I mentioned, this accommodation could be great...just more attention to detail needed

Room Tip: There's a great river walk just behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second stay, Overall good size room, easy parking, spotless room, great hot shower, also very clean. Comfortable bed!
Best value in town. TV, DVD in room, Friendly management and staff,
What more could one ask for.
Nice little court yard, with seating.Also nice front yard near the famous river.

Room Tip: ask for a rear room, if you are a lite sleeper, as front rooms are near the HYW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Bruce was laid back but very friendly. The room was spotless and very nicely furnished. Good sized room and bathroom with all you could need. Bed was very comfy and we slept well. The free DVDs are a good idea but we spent our evenings drinking wine! The weather was cool for us but the balcony was a great place to sit if it had been warmer. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road and there was occasional noise from traffic but nothing that bothered u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adamson's Riverside Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamson's Riverside Accommodation

Address: 71 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Adamson’s Riverside we make every effort to ensure our guest’s stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. As soon as you arrive you will be warmly welcomed as we provide a home from home friendly atmosphere.Our commitment to you is to really make a difference in your time spent in Margaret River leaving you feeling relaxed and energized, share our enthusiasm for what is probably one of the most inspiring regions in Australia.Choose Adamson’s Riverside as your place of holiday here in the beautiful natural attraction of the Margaret River region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Adamson's Riverside Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamson`s Riverside Hotel Margaret River
Adamsons Riverside Accommodation Hotel
Adamsons Riverside Accommodation Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adamson's Riverside Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.