We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary to your Saves list
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   118 Roy Road, Metricup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was a most relaxing break for us! Meeting the 'locals' at night, and having a Roo pop inside the (charming!) cottage for a visit is apparently an everyday (or evening!) occurrence. We were thrilled to see Bandicoots and Possums as well as Woylies and Roos - great work, Joy and Simon. So lovely being surrounded by the bush - with the spa! - and then there were the massages ......! Great food provided - everything one could possibly wish for was in our cottage! Highly recommended, and we will be back again with family and/or friends soon, we hope!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The kids fell in love with the place at first sight.

The chalet was big, clean, well-stocked, cosy and well decorated with all the personal touches. Nothing was lacking from the place. Information with regards to the places of interests were also nicely compiled for our references. I must applaud Simon and Joy for their thoughfulness of making the stay a comfortable and relaxing one. A box of toys was also prepared which thrilled my children. They also enjoyed watching the DVDs which were available.

Of course the highlights of the stays were the 'visitors' we had (i.e. the animals) and the outdoor spa which we thoroughly enjoyed.

This place is definitely a gem and we are so glad that we found it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We arrived around 3.00pm for a 2 night mid-week stay. Joy met us at the cottage, and shortly thereafter the kangaroos and birds arrived - later in the evening we were joined by possums, woylies and a bandicoot.
The setting is perfect for a quiet getaway to enjoy the peace and tranquility of nature at it's best - it is close to Margaret River, the wine region, and Busselton - the cottages are very well appointed and well stocked with all the basic necessities - the entire place is as natural and eco friendly as is possible - the owners have done an excellent job.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and highly recommend it to all

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have stayed at this magical spot several times and each time we are trully amazed at the beauty and woder that surrounds us. Nestled away from the City, this location is perfect for relaxation and nature. With a private spa under the stars and nature trully on your door step, it is a trip you will remember for a life time. Where else can you hand feed kangaroos, possums and other native creatures? The chalets are self contained and amazingly comfortable. Last time we were there, we booked a hot stone massage, you can even get them to come out to your chalet. What total bliss! Highly reccomended to those who want to get away and relax without leaving Margaret Rive to far behind.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights over the long weekend and didnt want to leave. Very relaxing, stress free holiday.

Close to all the wineries, beaches and everything else the south west has to offer but secluded chalets nestled in amongst 100ac get you away from it all.

Fantastic for animal lovers that want to get up close and personal with the beautiful kangaroos, woylies, birds, bandicoots and possums.

Thanks to Joy, Simon and the animals for making it our best weekend in Margaret River yet.

Will be back

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here for one night on our Margaret River tour.

We did enjoy our stay here however we felt that the price charged (AUD $280) was a bit steep for what you got, especially the breakfast supplies. If you don't like eggs on toast then you are in trouble. For the price you pay we felt that a box of cereal wouldn't have gone astray.

Lots of animals around which did make the stay enjoyable - we saw bandicoots, kangaroos and birds. We also felt that charging me $2 to feed the animals on top of the $280 per night was also a bit rough.

The accommodation itself was nice, but I must admit it did feel a bit weird opening the front door and being in the bathroom / laundry and looking at the toilet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyMargaretRiver, owner at Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Thankyou for your review, we may have not made clear when you booked that on arrival complimentary local produce is supplied consisting of a loaf of freshly baked bread, small bottle of fresh milk, 1/2 dozen Margaret River free range eggs, pat of butter, local paper and maps.
We are can provide continental breakfast supplies for a charge of $12 p/p which includes large local milk, cereals, orange juice jams, herbal teas etc: plus the above.

We would have been happy to help you out with some cereal if requested FOC. We have done so in the past if asked.

We are glad you enjoyed the wildlife, this is why we built the predator proof fence to exclude feral cats & foxes.

You mention charging for the 3 x containers of fauna feed provided in each chalet. I checked the labels and they state -
eg- "Possum food" ($2 per refill)
Please only feed 1/2 a handful per day.
Possums are herbivores - meaning they eat greens & fruit.
Do not feed them bread.

Guests can use all 3 x containers at no charge, then refills are $2 per container.
I am sorry if you misunderstood my label on the container.

You were charged a small 1 night surcharge of $20 usually it is $30. So a slightly higher price than a two night booking.

Thankyou once again for staying with us, I hope you got some nice animal pics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Yelverton Brook for 4 nights in July 2009. We completely enjoyed our stay with the kangaroos, banidcoots, woolies, possums, and birds! The resort is centrally located within the Margaret River region – an up a beautiful country road passing sheep and deer farms! The cabins are fully stocked with the spices, olive oil, utensils, aluminum foil, etc that you need to cook dinners on the grill or in the kitchen (we always went with the grill!) The kangaroos are easy to spot even as you head to the main office to check in – and the other animals came by at dusk - and sometimes dawn – to our porch. The hottubs work great and seem very clean – another great way to spend an evening. The cabins are spaced perfectly so you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. We enjoyed the walking trail though the grounds – probably a 25 minute walk in all. The lady working out in the office was very helpful and friendly. The loaf of bread on arrival was mmmmmm, amazing! Our stay was an absolutely wonderful get-away in SW Australia, and we will recommend it to everyone we know who may be heading that way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary

Address: 118 Roy Road, Metricup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found just 15 mins from Margaret River, Busselton & Dunsborough, set in one of the State's few private, fully eco-certified 100ac conservation sanctuaries. Here friendly native fauna visits your doorstep, wildflowers flourish and enjoy the meandering walktrails through the bushland. The perfect setting for romantics, couples travelling together & families plus visiting nature enthusiasts. Offering fully self-contained chalets, with private 6 person "spas under the stars". Set in 100acs offering peace & privacy and to provide a sense of escaping back the very essence of the natural bush.A welcome food package for your arrival day contains, freshly baked bread, small fresh milk, butter, free range eggs, local paper & maps. Plus special feed for the friendly wildlife.Plus special packages, day spa treatments, even a Private Chef option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.